Attitude

I’ve been fluttering for over a year now with the FlyLady (if you haven’t heard of her, check out http://www.flylady.net).

Anyway, the thing is, I’ve been thinking about my attitude toward my possessions. When I’m less than enthusiastic about taking care of them, what I’m really showing is a lack of gratitude. I mean, if was truly thankful, wouldn’t I make every effort to take care of my things as best as I can? Wouldn’t I be thankful for the opportunity to take care of what I own?

On days when my attitude is where it should be, my chores are NOT a chore. I put on my headphones and fly through my day. Sometimes, it still takes all day :), but I tend to enjoy the activity *GASP!*

On the other hand — when I slip back into my stinky way of thinkin’, my chores feel like a mountain of trouble that I can’t climb even if I want to!

I keep reminding my kids of the verse that says, “Do everything as if doing it for the Lord.”

Apparently, I’M the one who needs reminding!! 🙂

Do you have any ‘tudes that need adjusting?

2 thoughts on “Attitude

  1. The real question is do I have any attitudes that DON’T need adjusting!!! I have issues with just about everything and everyone around me right now. And yet I somehow believe that no one could possibly have issues with moi. How can that be? If they irritate me so much, chances are I am bothering the heck out of them, too!! I think I expect people to treat me with perfect respect even when they’re tired, stressed, or upset. Then, when I’m tired, stressed, and upset, I cut myself ten tons of slack in my attitudes toward the same people I am ready to pulverize for mistreating me! Yep. Human and all that jazz. But I wish I had a better handle on my own junk!

    = )

    Like

  2. a comment on my own comment…

    I appreciated your tying this into our attitudes about our possessions. I never considered that. I’m going to pass this along to the kids, too. Treat your things as if they’re important to you and you are grateful for them. They are indirectly gifts from God! I like that.

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

