Worth it

by Donna Earnhardt

Today
Take a leap
from the lofty stool
of can’ts
should’ves and
wish-I-hads

Today
Break down
the walls
Of your comfy box
(that acts more like a coffin)

Today
Raise your sword
And war
against
the fear
That threatens
To undo you

Today
Lace up your ‘big girl’ shoes
And fly
like the eagle
Not looking back
Keeping your eyes on the prize

Today —
Be still and know
Be still and know
Be still and know
That HE is God

TOday – don’t exist.

LIVE.

LIVE.

LIVE.

TODAY.

13 thoughts on “Worth it

  1. Thank you!
    Actually, I wrote it today. (do I need to add that to the top?)

    I loved your post, too. Beautiful. Beautiful. Your love for your family is evident in every post.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the sweet words, CJ.

    As for your blog post today… it’s never easy, is it? I hope you’ll allow yourself time to grieve. It’s hard…but it does help.

    Hugs,
    Donna

    Like

  3. Donna, I’ve tracked down your blog in the hopes of reading more poetry and VOILA! Thanks for checking me out, so I could find my way to your site, too! I just painted a big sign for my guest bedroom that says: “Be Still” . We all know the rest. And congrats on your well-deserved win from Jody. Can’t hardly wait to see the prizes.

    Like

  4. Thank you, Donna! I’m so glad you stopped by. You’ve inspired me to post a few of my Senryu. Or is it Senryus? Either way, I’ve posted 3.
    🙂

    I enjoy your blog and will be making frequent trips there!

    Like

  5. Great poem, Donna. After a really tough day with my eighth graders, I needed a pick-me-up.

    Also, thanks for taking a peek at my new blog. I’m hoping to eventually make it into a resource for teachers and writers.

    : )
    Linda

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

