A few things…

I’m playing catch up today, so try to keep up…

They finally arrived… I got my contributor copies of Highlights today. As my daughter says, “SWEEEET!”

*********************
I finished a poem this week to sub. My 5 year old listened to it and said, “Don’t use that word, Mama. Use this one…” and proceeded to give me the PERFECT substitution. “Yes! I’ll use it! Great job!” I told her. “Well,” she says, grinning, “I think I might be a writer like you one day when I grow up.”

Was that a collective “Awwww!” I just heard? ’cause it was an “awwwww” worthy moment!

**********************

I finished up an article on blogging for our region’s SCBWI newsletter. It was fun writing it. I just hope it’s what the editor is looking for!

*********************

And on the non-writing front… even though I still struggle with housekeeping and “flying lessons” (see Flylady.net), today I realized I am not the same person I used to be. In my younger years, clutter and a messy house really didn’t bother me. But now, I can honestly say it grates on my nerves. When the house is a mess, I don’t feel as creative. My “freedom” feels infringed upon. I don’t like it! That being said, I also realized that as long as my living room, dining room and kitchen look good, I’m not as freaked out. I don’t LIKE the other rooms being messy, but I don’t feel overwhelmed. The rooms I listed are the rooms that I see when I walk in the house. They stare at me through the front windows. They are the places we hang out in the most. Therefore, if they are clean and ordered, the rest of the house doesn’t make me want to scream as loudly as it would if said rooms were messy. Did you get all that?

No, there’s really no big lesson here at all…just wanted to say it outloud.

That is all. Carry on.

3 thoughts on “A few things…

  1. That’s exactly how I feel about the cleaning. For me, the two biggies are the kitchen being clean and the carpet being clean. If my carpet is gross, I HAVE to haul out the vacuum or I can’t write.

    Like

  2. I feel the same way about cleaning, much to my dismay. I used to ignore clutter, too, and now I can’t write in a messy room…or maybe cleaning is my way of procrastinating on my writing!

    Loved your daughter’s comment, by the way. 🙂
    Natalie

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

