Bummed

Here’s the deal — my hubby set me up with a sweet little “mini-office” in our bedroom. I have a comfy chair, big ol’ monitor (courtesy of my MIL), wireless mouse and wireless keyboard. SET. READY. WRITE.

Right?

I’ve been making great use of it. So have my kids. I’ve allowed them to use it for “study” time, computer time, sitting in mom’s lap time, etc…

But now I’m rethinking the whole situation.

I sat down to rework my chapter book (which might really be a young MG in hiding) and when I picked up my keyboard, I noticed something strange. An overturned cup on my carpet AND…

sticky, shiny spots on the keyboard.

UGGGGGHHHHHARRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (x2)

To quote Don Knotts (in The Ghost and Mr. Chicken), “It’s Terrible! Just terrible!”

It just beep! Beep! Beeps! at me.
Nothing works.
Not my space bar.
Not my enter bar.
Not even my backspace.
Nothing works except that blasted beep.

And if you’re wondering, yes — I asked the little darlings who did it. I didn’t yell. I didn’t cry. I wanted to, though.

Moral of the story?

1. Don’t let kids use Mini-office unless they’ve been patted down and searched for any and all sticky or could-be sticky substances.

2. Enjoy those wireless keyboards. They don’t last forever. Especially when kids are involved.

Rant over.
Carry on.

4 thoughts on “Bummed

  1. I feel your pain! When I started writing my kids were 5, 2 and newborn. I had to make a “nobody touches Mommy’s typewriter” rule (and later, the computer) right away. When subsequent computers were bought, I immediately took out all games so it wouldn’t be a temptation. We didn’t have Internet then, so that made it a lot easier. They knew it was Mommy’s “business equipment” and not a toy. You might think of getting a cheap used computer for the kids off craigslist.com so you can keep your own off limits.

    Like

  2. Thanks Kristi for the condolences! 🙂 They do have a computer, but it’s as old as the hills and my hubby (a computer geek) is setting them up with another one. I thought I’d be sweet and allow them to use my ‘area’.

    Those days are over! 🙂

    I really enjoyed your blog. My daughter is a HUGE mystery buff, (she’s 10), so we’ll be checking out your new series. Right now, she’s reading the Mandie Series (an older series from the 80’s, Bethany House). She also enjoys the PonyTail Girls books. SO I think yours will be right up her alley! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh, no! I remember something like this happened to Jaina on the BB. I’m sorry. 😦 How nice to have a cozy writing space in your bedroom. Sounds divine.

    I agree that your chapter book really is a young MG in hiding. Too much good stuff there to cram into 80 pages. Not that you couldn’t, but I think you’d be selling a great story short.

    Like

  4. Hi STEF!! I’ve been thinking about you!

    Yes, my little laptop, ravaged by a toxic juice spill. ARRRRGGGH!! 🙂

    I’ve been revising Maddie. I’m so excited! Thank you for the encouragement. I’ve added several new characters, more conflict, action and moved around/added some dialogue.

    If it makes any difference, my 10 year thinks it’s MUCH better. But the 5 and 4 year old still aren’t impressed. LOL!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

