Surprises

Last week my hubby, Pookie Bear (we’ll call him PB, for short) informed me that he paid off my college loan. I was shocked and thrilled! We’ve been under the burden of paying right at $100 a month on it since I graduated in 1995. And now… FREEDOM!

The surprise didn’t end there. PB gave me a gift yesterday and said, “Happy Graduation!” It was the new David Crowder Band CD, Remedy! A few months ago, Remedy was released — and I’ve wanted it ever since. I was sure I’d have to wait until my birthday (in DECEMBER) to get it.

You see, PB and I don’t usually give each other gifts unless it’s holidays or birthdays. So this…this was special. He let me know, in a very unexpected way, that he loved me.

I believe that’s what God was doing in and through Ezekiel. God gave Ezekiel very specific and UNEXPECTED instructions that would illustrate God’s character, His love, His holiness and His plans toward and for his people.

To be clear, all the surprises weren’t happy ones. To find a particluarly unhappy and unexpected turn of events, Read Ezekiel 25:15 through the end of the chapter. Ezekiel was told his wife would die. Yes – the love of his life. Verse 24 continues: Ezekiel will be a sign to you; you will do just as he has done. When this happens, you will know that I am the Sovereign Lord.

Hundreds of years later, God gave the world the ultimate surprise. Luke chapter 2:Do not be afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of great joy which will be for all the people; 11 for today in the city of David there has been born for you a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. 12 “This will be a sign for you: you will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

What a surprise to have the King of kings born in a stable! As a baby, He represented how helpless His creation was (and is!) without the grace and strength of the sovereign Lord. And His creation had been under the weight of their sin since “the incident” in the Garden of Eden.

Jesus grew and ministered, fulfilling the life He came to live. He willingly laid down His life, then picked it up again. He paid any and all spiritual debt weighing on us. Letting us know, in a very unexpected way that He loves us. And now… FREEDOM!

9 thoughts on “Surprises

  1. What a great gift to have your loans paid off! And a wonderful application to what Jesus has done for us.

    Off-topic, I see that you have Revelation Song in your playlist on the right. I love that song! I sang it when our worship team used to do it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Revelation song – ooooh yes! So you like to sing, too? Cool beans. Us, too! My kids LOVE to sing that song. Sometimes they’ll sing it as a prayer before they go to bed. My 4 year old calls it the “Holy, Holy” song. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thanks, J! I finally downloaded some of the pics we’ve taken over the summer. I’ll add more later, though I’m weary of adding my recent pics of my little ones, so you probably won’t see them on here.

    Like

  4. Well, PB, um, I mean, “anonymous”…thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment anyway. They are ALWAYS appreciated!! 🙂 🙂

    (would snugglebunny (S.B.) be more acceptable? Or something more manly, like “grillmaster” (G.M)work better?)

    Like

  5. Congrats! I remember the day mine were paid off…. I learned the news via e-mail and screamed. My coworkers rushed to my office to see if I was okay! (Then the were happy for me and didn’t even get upset)

    Love the new pics, especialy the tattoo hands!

    Like

  6. Congrats, then, to you, too! 🙂

    I love the hand pics, too. We were up in Tennessee and the girls had their hands painted almost every day. It was great!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

