Transparent

Recently, I called a friend and invited her to an event I was attending in her city, really hoping she’d come. I knew, however, that her babies would be in bed at the time of the event and therefore, there was a strong possibility that she wouldn’t be able to.

But my friend heard in my voice that there was more to my call than met the eye. She knew I wasn’t just calling to invite her to a concert – I was asking for her company. She could hear the “other” stuff in my call that I didn’t know was there. She was in tune with my heart. And you know what? She told me so when she showed up. She said, “I could hear it in your voice.”

This particular friend is a member of a select few who have known me since the Fall of 1991…our first year in college. That’s what — 17 years? Wow. I’m 35. Yep, that’s HALF my life. I know young men and women at our church who have barely been alive that long!

This friend could hear I needed some “face” time with someone who “got” me. When she plopped down beside me, it was a fabulous surprise. The Lord KNEW what I needed.

Proverbs 27:9 NIV
Perfume and incense bring joy to the heart, and the pleasantness of one’s friend springs from his earnest counsel.

She and I are totally different people in some ways – but very alike in others. Her floor is clean enough that I would be glad to drop a sandwich on it, pick it up and then eat it. Yes…I would. Let it be enough to say that the same is NOT true for MY floor. 🙂 She is so organized that I think she probably knows when MY bills are due. Seriously. I, on the other hand, have been known to lose my bankcard…twice in one day. (sad, isn’t it?)

But the beauty of this whole relationship is even in our differences – there is common ground. We are both wives, mothers, writers, singers and chocolate-lovers. We have been known to wear blue and pink beehive wigs to the store…just for the fun of it.

And in this relationship, I am transparent – as is she. I can call her and vent, knowing full well she’ll listen. But fully expecting (gladly) that she’ll pray and share the wisdom of the Father with me, too. The next day, she calls and vents to me — and it’s my turn to listen and pray for her. It ain’t always pretty, but it’s always a blessing.

2 thoughts on “Transparent

  1. Hi, Friend,

    I’m reading a book entitle /11 Indispensible Relationships You Can’t Be Without/. His premise is that no one is an island. No one succeeds in life alone. He further contends that no ONE person can meet all of our needs or be all that we need in a friend.

    He uses 11 Bible characters as metaphors for 11 types of relationships we need in our friends and family.

    The last part of the premise is that we need to serve in those 11 roles for others at various times in our lives.

    “The most important thing is not to try to go it alone.”

    Jean
    http://www.jeanmatthewhall.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Sounds like a great book, my friend! Got a link?

    love,
    me

    P.s. I was blessed from birth with a best friend (my sister) who was and is a beautiful example of what a best friend should be. I’m so thankful for her!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

