Whispers

I Kings 19: 11-12 11 The LORD said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the LORD, for the LORD is about to pass by.”
Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake came a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. 13 When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.
Then a voice said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

I’m used to acting as the “intercom” for the house. If the girls yell, “MOM! Where is the …” Of course, I yell back (from whatever room I’m in), “I don’t know? Where did you put it?”

Understand – this is NOT a “mad” yell.
It’s the “I’m too lazy to get up and go to the other room so we can have a civil conversation” yell. OR the “I’m too busy to stop what I’m doing so I’m just going to keep going and hope I heard you correctly and hope you heard me” yell.

But today – I can’t do it.

I went to bed last night with a sore throat. I woke with the same and a strange sounding voice. Not a good combination for a homeschooling mom with three rambunctious girls.

So I’ve made the conscious decision to whisper when necessary.

My middle girl was the first up this morning. When she heard my voice, she automatically started talking in a quiet voice. It was so cute b/c she didn’t even realize what she was doing. She was simply imitating what she saw me doing.

Then, my oldest got up. She has a sore throat, too (but not laryngitis). I explained the situation to her (in a hushed tone, of course). And when my youngest woke up, I told her the same.

And it’s amazing how little I’m actually having to use my voice. The day has barely started, but I’m seeing a pattern forming.

When my kids want to talk to me – they stop what they are doing to come and ask me a question (most of the time). They know I can’t answer them from the other room – so they find me, ask the question and wait for my answer. So if they DO forget and try to communicate with me from the other room – they can’t hear my response. Then they realize “Oh yeah – mom is whispering. I need to go where she is.”

If I’m in a different room and need to talk to them – then I have to go find them and talk to them. I have to stop what I’m doing and deliberately seek them out. Otherwise, we can’t communicate.

And if we are in the same room and they ask a question, we have to make sure we are looking at each other. It’s amazing how much “facetime” I’m getting today!

The Lord used this to remind me of HIS still small voice. The farther away from Him I am – the harder it is to hear His voice. If I’m up close and personal, He doesn’t NEED to yell. We are getting facetime.

And just like my kids have beeen doing for me — I have to stop what I’m doing and deliberately draw near to God. He’s already talking to me – but I have to make the decision to be in His presence so I can hear Him. I’m usually too busy and yelling from the other room to hear what He has to say.

And as much as I dislike a sore throat, stuffy nose and weird sounding voice –I’m thankful for my Abba Daddy who loves me through the yucky stuff..and is plenty strong enough to turn it into a victory! !

2 thoughts on “Whispers

  1. What a beautiful reminder, Donna. I’m praying for your voice to heal. It’s a good thing you won’t have 50 people in your class Saturday, huh?

    The Lord knows what He’s doing, doesn’t He?

    Love you,
    Jean

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

