Women

I often wonder who Eve had to talk to when the kids were acting up? or when Adam didn’t understand her? Did she ever feel neglected while hubby tended to the garden? Did she complain that he was spending too much time at work? (I can see Adam’s comeback, now…”Well, Eve…if you hadn’t disobeyed Dad…” hah! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ )Or not enough time with the boys? I wonder if she worked side by side with her hubby? or if she was home most of the time tending to whatever needed to be tended to?

Thankfully, I’m not Eve. Bless her heart, all of history gets to see her major faux pas. Only a select few friends know most of mine.

I called one of those friends to vent yesterday.
Typically, that happens only on days that end in Y.

I was frustrated.
I was disappointed.
I was hurt.
I was anything but pleased! ๐Ÿ™‚

My friend, sweet thing that she is, listened as I allowed the lava of my emotional volcano to spew and flow without restraint.

It wasn’t pretty…but she loved me enough to let me vent. She loved me enough To NOT judge me nor the situation in any way other than in truth and love. And that she did…she let me vent. But she responded in truth, in love…and helped me keep things in perspective.

I am thankful.

Too many times, as women, I believe we hold tight to the falsehood that somehow everyone (except for us) has a perfect life, perfect clothes and perfect relationships. We hold onto it and feel guilty when are found lacking in those departments. Then we reinforce the falsehood by judging other females with a critiical spirit when they show anything less than perfection.

We should be striving for perfection…but loving each other and encouraging one another in the midst of our obvious “not there yet” status. None of us are perfect. We have flaws (jealousy, insecurities, and even selfish ambitions at times) . We have a desire to be loved and appreciated by those we love the most. Yet we also have a desire to serve our Lord, be good daughters, good wives, good friends, good workers and most of all…to be who God has called us to be and do what He has called us to do.

It’s nice to know we are in this together. It’s nice to know we are not alone in this sometimes tumultuous journey. It’s comforting to know that the same God who made me and loves me also…made and loves the gal with the sad face playing the guitar on the corner… the older brunette driving the mustang… and the very young mother yelling at her kids to stop messing with stuff on the Walmart candy aisle.

We are in this together…
The “dramatic, tear filled, what am I going to do” moments
The “quiet” moments
The “brownies with ice cream” moments
The “must lose the last 20 pounds” moments
The “I should have said this…” moments
The “I actually kept my mouth shut!” moments
The “If he says it one more time…” moments
The “I messed up again” moments
The “Am I the only one who feels the way?” moments
The “What’s for dinner…where are my shoes…I am so tired of this messy house!” moments

So, I thank the LORD for all my friends — my “sisters”. We are walking this out together.
Amd I am greatly blessed.
When I need to vent…when I need to scream…when I need to laugh, dance or maybe even cry —
I am thankful for these wonderful women whose shoulders and gentle wsdom help keep me focused on the bigger picture and the way of the Cross! (I’m even thankful for the “kick in the pants” wisdom…I often need that, too.)

Live big and love big, my sweet friends.
Embrace who God has called you to be.
And enjoy being a GIRL! ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Women

  1. Amen sister! You can vent to me anytime. I wish we lived closer so we could grab a hot fudge brownie together – and forget the calories! Love ya!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Tee, Jean and Amy! This really wasn’t one of those “woe is me” posts (though on reflection, it could be taken that way!). I read a post by a younger woman (less than 20 years of age) who was bemoaning the fact that girls are so dramatic and her hatred of them at that moment in time. Her post got me to thinking. It was spurred on by the growing pains I seem to constantly be going through. LOL!

    So – as I was mulling over her post, I realized that I can’t ever hate girls…b/c to do so would be to hate myself. I don’t always like the way I act – or the way other women act. I don’t always like the things I say – or the things other women do or say. But that has to do with the verses found in Romans 7 starting around verse 17 (from the Message): “I decide to do good, but I don’t really do it; I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway. My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time.”

    I am sad to say that I am often critical of others…and it’s b/c I’m so critical of myself much of the time. That’s not a good thing…just saying I’m aware of it! ๐Ÿ™‚ So instead of showing compassion and grace – I do the very thing I don’t WANT to do – I have a critical spirit. I think many women (and men!) do the same thing.

    And that’s humanity, isn’t it? If we kick each other while we’re down instead of encouraging one another – then what good is that? Have we glorified God? Have we shared the love of Jesus?

    That being said – I’m so thankful to be one of God’s creations. I am learning more and more every day how truly remarkable and lovely God’s grace really is. ๐Ÿ™‚ (that’s an awful lot of “ly” words on that sentence). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for being such beautiful women of God and willing to share walk out this journey together. It’s amazing how freeing it is to share struggles…and then walk them out into the beautiful place of Freedom God intends for us to be! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

