Quiet

Some days, I long for QUIET. If you know me personally, you might find that hard to believe as I tend to talk more than Oprah, Tyra and Dr. Phil put together.

However odd it may sound…it’s true.

There are days when I don’t even want to talk. I’m not upset. I’m not depressed. I just like the sound of silence. I like to turn off the radio, tv, video games and even the computer and just sit and listen. It’s amazing.

A few months ago, our entire block had a power outage.ย  It was after 9pm and the power wasn’t back on until well after 3am. There was complete silence (except for the sound of my hubby and children snoring). ย I listened to the crickets singing, the frogs calling and all the other nighttime music I seem to miss most other evenings.ย ย  IM000232

I wonder what would happen if we shut off all our electronic equipment for just a few hours a day? I’m not suggesting we deliberately cause food to spoil by turning off the fridge. (That’s crazy talk, anyway…I have cheesecake in there!) But I am suggesting a time of unplugging from the electronic and virtual world and plugging INTO the beautiful world around us.

Even if you can’t bring yourself to unplug everything in the house, how about just unplugging yourself for a day or two? Don’t check your email, twitter, myspace or facebook account. Go silent for a while and just breathe.

(and when you get back from your “breather”, check out this article. Then go breathe some more! ๐Ÿ™‚ http://www.childrenshealthblog.com/2009/02/09/you-cant-smell-the-roses-if-youre-too-plugged-in/)

8 thoughts on “Quiet

  1. I call my house “the loud house” with three kids and two dogs and a husband who has his tv on all the time, even when he’s working.
    So quiet is rare, but oh so nice! I love the internet and my computer that it’s almost an obsession, but it is so nice when we get away for a weekend and I’m not checking my email for a few days!

    Like

  2. I know what you mean, Kelly. ๐Ÿ™‚ Homeschooling 3 kids makes my house a hub-bub of activity and noise, too! Some girlfriends and I are going away for a few days in November for some “mama” time. No email. No tv (unless we want to watch and even then, WE get control of the remote), no email, nada.

    It’s going to be nice. And then…when it’s over…it will be nice to be back home with the noisemakers and hug-machines. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Hi Kami! Thanks for visiting! Hope to see you round these here parts again! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    (if you’re feeling adventurous – then how about trying out a cinquain and posting in the “cinquain crazy” comment section? I saw all your writing accomplishments. I bet you’re great at them!)

    Like

  4. Jean โ€“ thank you! Itโ€™s hard switching to a new blog after being on blogger for so long. But itโ€™s a nice change for me. A new start.
    Thank you for stopping by, my friend!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

