Don’t just think about living…do it!

*Today is situational saturday: my day to ramble on love, life, writing and relationships!

Do you ever have a day when you just feel like starting again? Do you wish you could get up again and hit the “do over” button? Do you wish you could just say, “nevermind”…and everything and everyone would go back to normal?

This German lady had 55 years worth of days like that: http://bit.ly/7ifr0b  To sum it up, she fell when she was 4 years old and suffered with a pencil up her nose for all that time. Yep. That’s over 20,000 days that she probably wanted a do over. 

Do you walk around with stuff stuck in your head like that? No – I don’t mean a pencil. I mean thoughts, worries and scenarios that keep you up at night? Those are the things that cause headaches, strained relationships and sometimes stressed related sickness.

If you are experiencing that right now, take time out to do something about it. Don’t let those thoughts and fears fester for years and years. All they do is take time off your life.

Here are some suggestions:

Go on a hike. Take a camera and shoot some pictures. Better yet, take an art pad and draw what you see.

Call a friend you haven’t seen in a while or send them a letter.

Pray.

Sing at the top of your lungs…and don’t worry about who is hearing you.

Rent a funny movie and laugh until your sides hurt!

Cook dinner for a friend if you’re able – and then make a date to do it again in two weeks. You’ll both have something to look forward to!

Don’t believe the lie that you will always be under a cloud of worry. It simply isn’t true.

Dance.

Write a poem.

Pray. (I know I already mentioned that, but it is worth repeating)

We all have been given the gift of life. Too often, we squander it. What are you doing today to celebrate the life you’ve been given? Right now, I’m going to bed as it’s after 1:00 am. BUT in seven or 8 hours…wow! The world better watch out! 🙂

10 responses to “Don’t just think about living…do it!”

  1. Linda Andersen Avatar
    Linda Andersen

    Today…I’m celebrating life by continuing something new–blogging with a friend. I’m celebrating life by getting some treadmill time in several times a week. I’m celebrating life by hosting Thanksgiving at my house this year. I’m celebrating life by giving God thanks throughout each day. I’m celebrating because I have a life, not just existance.

    Linda A.

    Like

    1. Donna Earnhardt Avatar

      I’m so glad you’re here! Sounds like your day is going to be beautiful!
      And you know I’m ready to add your blog address to my blogroll when you’re ready… 😉

      Like

      1. Linda Andersen Avatar
        Linda Andersen

        Thanks Donna for making me feel welcome and for offering to help me learn how to set up and run a blog. It’s not in the cards until after March at least. Keep holding me accountable though. That’s what good friends do.

        Linda

        Like

  2. Donna Earnhardt Avatar

    Today I’m going to clean up my dining room so we can have Thanksgiving dinner with all the fam next week. I’m going to put on some Christmas music and dance while I do it! 🙂
    My oldest girlie and I are going shopping later AND I’m going to figure out how to arrange my furniture so we can put the Christmas tree up next weekend. Life is good! 🙂

    Like

  3. Amy Tate Avatar

    How did you know? Boy I needed this post, girl! It’s been a very icky week. Thank you. Now I’m going to dance.

    Like

    1. Donna Earnhardt Avatar

      Amy,

      I’m glad the post was timely. 🙂 Kick those heels up in the air, girl!

      Like

  4. Vijaya Avatar

    Great post. We cleaned house, ooohed and aaahed over the cute doggie toys … will most likely watch a move tonight. It’s really the same old stuff day after day and week after week, but I’m content.

    Like

    1. Donna Earnhardt Avatar
      Donna Earnhardt

      same stuff is good stuff! 🙂 Being content in all circumstances is, too. I think contentment = a grateful heart.

      Like

  5. Jean Hall Avatar

    Beautiful reminders. I need to take a walk–outdoors, I mean. And I should blow the dust off that sketch pad by my bed, too.

    Thanks,
    Jean

    Like

    1. Donna Earnhardt Avatar

      Enjoy the beautiful weather, my friend. You just might get more inspiration for another PB! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions…

D.W. Earnhardt

Careful, you might end up in my novel…