Say it Loud Sundays: Grateful hearts

Do I have a thankful heart? Am I content? I like to think so.

But then I am hit square between the eyes with proof that tells me otherwise. I’m sometimes like a greedy queen who wants everything and everybody “her way”. I sit on my little throne and complain when things don’t according to my plan.

Paul wrote this passage a long time ago – but it still convicts my heart to truth. Philippians 4:11-13:

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

How often do I sigh and act as if my circumstances are too much or too little? Far too often. I am appalled at my lack of a thankfulness. When I’m feeling discontent, desiring more or less than I already have, it points to an ungrateful heart.

My sweet friend, Vijaya, left a comment on yesterday’s post that has stuck with me.

We cleaned house, ooohed and aaahed over the cute doggie toys … will most likely watch a move tonight. It’s really the same old stuff day after day and week after week, but I’m content.

Thus, her comment has inspired me to start a Grateful List:

I am grateful for going to bed with a full belly.

I am grateful for a husband who kills bugs and spiders for me – even though he hates to do it.

I am grateful for two bathrooms.

I am grateful for a warm house and bed.

I am grateful for healthy, giggling children.

I am grateful for a sound mind.

I am grateful for the sprigs of gray in my hair.

I am grateful for money to buy groceries.

I am grateful for legs and arms that work.

I am grateful for central air and heating.

I am grateful for the gut-wrenching tears that come with grief.

I’m grateful for the cheek-streaking tears that come with joy.  

I am grateful for the power of God…in all circumstances (known and unknown).

I am grateful for the freedom to speak, live and worship without fear of death.

I am grateful for the ability and blessing of sharing this simple and terribly incomplete list on this blog…and for all who read it.  

I am grateful for tylenol and ibuprofen.

I am grateful for the little homemade Thanksgiving crafts that adorn my table.

I am grateful for the Great I AM. Jehovah. Yahweh. Messiah. King.

I am grateful just to be alive.

What are you thankful for today?

6 thoughts on “Say it Loud Sundays: Grateful hearts

  1. I am grateful for so many things. One I must share: I am grateful to be a Christian children’s writer. Writing makes me complete. God has helped me to find my wholeness.

    Linda

    Like

  2. Donna, a couple of years ago we started talking about 5 things we’re each thankful for (big or small) around the supper table every night and it’s amazing how often we only speak of the same things — family, friends, pets, the sunshine, squirrels, etc. Aye, I do have a grateful heart. I truly hope that I will be abel to give thanks in all circumstances.

    Today I am especially thankful for our church and the new people who have felt the call and answered it.

    Like

    1. That is great idea, Vijaya! I always try to be thankful, but sometimes I find myself grumbling about circumstances and how other folks are acting. What a hypocrite I’m being in those moments! Your comment yesterday really smacked me upside the head and reminded me what is going on in those “grumbling” moments…I’m being ungrateful!

      And YAY for new folks at church! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

