Tunes Tuesday: Nathan Clark George and new words, old tunes

My new favorite Indie Artist: Nathan Clark George

NCG’s soothing and folksy vocal talent, thought provoking lyrics, and his ability to marry the music and lyrics remind me of another of my favorite artists, James Taylor.

Factoid: NCG, his wife and FIVE children travel around the country in an RV while NCG tours. The kids are homeschooled 0n the road. You KNOW that has to be hard on the mom…and a blast for the kids!

Check out a sampling of his fabulous tunes over at Indie Heaven and on his website.  

*************************** 

And now for some old tunes with NEW lyrics! 🙂 To get the full effect, you must sing them aloud. If anyone looks at you funny, ask them to join you! 🙂

Time of Year by me (dwe)

(sung to the tune of Jingle Bells)

 Chorus:

Love and mirth,

Joy and peace

No more talk of fear!

Jesus is our Refuge

He came to draw us nearrrr…

Love and mirth, Joy and peace

No more talk of fear!

This is time to celebrate

a special time of year…

 

verse:

Sing of heaven’s child

Sleeping in the night

bringing joy to all

bringing love and light

Come to save us all

from our sins so great

He has come to give us life

It’s time to celebrate

OHhhhhh….

 

Chorus:

Love and mirth,

Joy and peace

No more talk of fear!

Jesus is our Refuge

He came to draw us nearrrrrr…

Love and mirth,

Joy and peace

No more talk of fear!

This is time to celebrate

a special time of year…

 

 LAST MINUTE ANNIE 

by Donna Earnhardt (a.k.a. me, dwe, rubble)

(Sing to the rhythm of “Christmas is coming, the goose is getting fat…”)

 

Christmas is coming

I’ve shopping left to do!

One day is left?

Please say it isn’t true!

I’ve got my lists all ready

I’m heading out the door

I’ll get it done (while having fun!)

and close out all the stores!

 

 Anyone want to try your hand at it? Pick a Christmas song and put your own words to the melody. Have fun with it! I can hardly wait to “hear”! 🙂

14 thoughts on “Tunes Tuesday: Nathan Clark George and new words, old tunes

  1. Jingle Bells at its fullest…I did sing aloud, but mostly at a read-to-self level. I enjoyed playing the music from Nathan’s website while posting my comments. Thanks for introducing me to new artists including you. How fun!

    Linda

    Like

    1. I’ll start…

      http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/j/jackson_5/santa_claus_is_coming_to_town.html (I don’t know if a link can be done here)

      Jesus Christ is Coming For You
      (Sung to Santa Claus is Coming to Town)

      You’d better watch out
      You’d better not lie
      you’d better repent
      I’m telling you why
      Jesus Christ is coming
      for you.

      He’s making a list
      and checking it twice.
      Gonna find out if you’re
      a believer or not.

      Jesus Christ is coming for you.

      He sees you when you’re sleeping
      He knows if you’re awake.
      He knows if you’ve been bad or good;
      so believe for eternity’s sake.

      Oh, you’d better watch out
      You’d better not lie
      you’d better repent
      I’m telling you why
      Jesus Christ is coming
      for you.

      Hallelujah!

      Linda

      Like

  2. You’re good, Donna. I’ll have to sing it out with my kids this afternoon. Perhaps they shall be inspired to pen their own wicked lines.

    Oh, my kids love Hark the herald angels sing … but they always say:
    Hark and Harold angels sing … it cracks me up every time.

    Like

  3. Thank you Vijaya! I found these lyrics the other day. I think I wrote them last Christmas, but I’m not sure.

    Hark and Harold? snort! giggle! guffaw!!!
    I’d love to see some of your kiddos lyrics!

    Like

  4. To the tune of “What Child Is This?” (Greensleeves)
    Words by David Slonim

    Why did the heart of God rejoice
    That ancient night He lit the sky
    With music and with angel voice?
    For our Lord Christ had come to die

    For rending of the Trinity-
    God would forsake His only Son;
    And this from all eternity
    Praise God, the Three agreed upon

    Chorus:
    Praise Him, angels with each breath
    Oh, praise Him, mortals on the earth
    Praise Him for His saving death
    And sing the glory of His birth

    The Father, Son, and Holy Ghost
    Endured abysmal agony
    But this, My God, astounds me most
    He died upon the cross for me!

    Chorus:
    Praise Him angels, with each breath
    O Praise Him, mortals on the earth
    Praise Him for His saving death
    And sing the glory of His birth

    Like

    1. DAVID…wow. I might as well break my writing pen in half. That is beautiful. Absolutely.
      You illustrate and write lyrics, too. I’m MORE than impressed!

      Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas! (very early, I know, but as we are re-writing
      Christmas Carols, I felt it appropriate!)

      peace,
      Donna

      Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

