SS: Too tired to type

So, I went shopping last night with my mom and sis. Midnight until almost 8am. Yes, we are special kind of odd.

We had fun searching for just the right gift, standing in line chatting (45 minutes…eeep!) and eating at Chili’s around 3am. It was a blast!

Right now, though, I am too tired to type. I will ask for your help in posting today. As it is Situational Saturday (my day to post random thoughts on life, love and writing), I am going to ask you to share your favorite things about the upcoming season of Christmas. Remember that song from the Sound of Music? “These are a few of my favorite things…”  (for more flashback pics on the the Sound of Music, click on pic to the right)

You can even share your thoughts in haiku form or some other form of poetry if you so desire. How about a top five list? Whatever floats your boat. I’ll post mine sometime tomorrow. But I want to read your favorites first, as I am too tired to type another thing! 🙂

hugs,

Donna

5 thoughts on “SS: Too tired to type

  1. For me it is NOT shopping! Loved your story about pulling an allnighter to shop though.

    I think my favorite thing is just spending time together. I also love discovering the gifts that are handmade. My kids still make things at school for us and they are amazing. I’m horrible, I cringe sending granparents their gifts because I WANT TO KEEP THEM FOR MYSELF! (so, not in the spirit of the season, right?!)

    That’s the best of it – spending time with my dh & our kids!

    Like

      1. some of my favorite things about the holidays?’

        Family time, just sitting around the tree. We like to lay on the floor under the tree and squint. It makes the lights so pretty! 🙂

        Giving gifts. They don’t have to be expensive, even a homemade card will do. But I like giving something I’ve put thought into. Something that lets the other person know they were on my heart.

        Christmas Eve Candlelight services. Sweet little voices, Christmas carols and anticaption of the next day’s events!

        Shopping with my mom and sister on Black Friday. (explained in post above)

        REading “MY Son, My Savior” by (Calvin Miller and Ron Dicianni) to my kids every year. It’s a beautiful book told from Mary’s point of view. Amazing. If you haven’t read it yet, you should.

        I also love to just BE. NO running around. No busy-ness. No “what are we doing now?” questions. Just sitting, reading, playing a game or hanging out together. I guess that relates back to the first thing on my list, doesn’t it? 🙂

        Like

    1. Heehee! I love that answer. I’m one of those weird folks who likes to shop – but it pales in comparison to the rest of my favorite things of the season!

      I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

      hugs,
      Donna

      Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

