Tunes Tuesday: Music that moves you to write

(Today, I am out of town helping bake 14-layer chocolate cakes for Christmas. I’d give you a slice if I could. But I can’t, so we’ll just have to mourn that fact and move on…)

Okay, so I’ve been introducing new indie musicians (they are new to me, at least!) over the last couple of weeks. And I was going to post about another new artist today, but instead, I’d like to discuss music that moves you to write.

Do you mellow out to a favorite Mozart piece or Chopin while sharpening your dialogue?

Or maybe you rock out to Third Day or even Lynard Skynard while working on a character sketch?

Do you type to the rhythm of Motown? Or perhaps you can only write when listening to the sound of silence?

courtesy of my sis...close up pic of my mom's tree!

I am sometimes a “sound of silence” type of gal. Matter of fact, that’s all I used to be able to write to. No music. No humming. NOTHING.  I’ve changed. I’ve grown. I’ve…*gasp!*…learned that I CAN do things differently than before. 🙂

And right now, as it is Christmas time, I am enjoying the sounds of Bing Crosby, Brenda Lee, Perry Como, Stevie Wonder and the like. Christmas music is one of my most favorite things around this time. I start listening to it on the “all Christmas music – all the time” radio stations as soon as they start broadcasting (which is usually the week of Thanksgiving).  I can cook, clean and write to this wonderful music from long ago…at least until we hit New Year’s. 🙂 

So what music moves YOU to write?

10 thoughts on “Tunes Tuesday: Music that moves you to write

  1. Donna,

    Nature’s music inspires me to write. I love the quiet, the beauty, and the peace that fills my spirit. I insist on having my computer by a window, but I usually have to close the blinds or I focus on nature more than my writing. That’s one reason I get my treadmill time in front of a window. It allows my body and soul to come away refreshed.

    Linda A.

    Like

  2. I, too, find it hard to concentrate with music and other “sound” distracting me — unless it’s just an email or something that doesn’t require polished writing. I’d love to be able to write in busier settings, though. Maybe some day… Btw, I love what Linda said about nature’s music — I love it, too!

    Like

  3. Vijaya – heehee! I understand.

    Vijaya, Linda and Cheryl – I totally get it, y’all. And I have to clarify that my Christmas music, when it is on, is not blaring in my ears when I’m writing. It’s a soft sound in the background.

    I like Linda’s “sound of nature” comment, too! 🙂

    Like

  4. Wow – Awesome interview with Brenda. She has always been such an inspiration to me and my writing. She’s a good friend and continues to be an example of humility and talent! Thanks for posting this Donna!

    Like

  5. Mmmm, I want some of that 14 layer chocolate cake! 🙂
    I usually need silence to write. But my life is kind of boring, so I sometimes use songs to help me think of subjects for poetry for adults. Though I love to turn up the music in the car and when I’m cleaning and when I’m going for a walk. And speaking of walks, I sometimes write poetry in my head during a walk too! (though I’m stuck to the treadmill for the next four months now!).

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

