Situational Stuff Saturdays: Birthday traditions

I love birthdays. I love my kids’ birthdays, my hubby’s, my mom’s, sister’s, mother in love’s, brother in love’s, friends’ birthdays and yes, I even love mine! I’m not ashamed to tell my age. I figure having another birthday is better than the alternative!

So, in our house, we have certain traditions…

The birthday queen (or king) doesn’t have to clean up at all…Not even if they throw their socks on the floor.

The birthday queen (or king) doesn’t have to cook. (pizza delivery, anyone?)

They are in charge of the remote any time the TV is on for their birthday – the whole day. (unless Dad calls for an intervention)

The birthday fairy sucks the calories out of the birthday cake and other birthday sweets the night before in order to provide the birthday queen (or king) with a calorie-free and guilt-free day.

They get a cake…usually made by Buga-Buga. (my mom)

They get lots of kisses and hugs — everyone’s favorite part of the day! 

And one more thing…they get to blog about their birthday traditions (if they so choose and are over the age of 36). Then they thank the blog readers who so graciously indulge them on such days (and all the other days!)

That being said…

THANK YOU!

THANK YOU!

THANK YOU!

 

So…what is your favorite birthday tradition? 

10 thoughts on “Situational Stuff Saturdays: Birthday traditions

  1. Well, let me be the first to wish you good health and cheer to last a whole another year.

    Celebrate!
    Don’t cook, don’t clean,
    throw your socks on the floor.
    Watch TV, eat cake
    But don’t slam the door.
    ‘Cause you might get some flowers, you know?

    Have a very happy birthday!
    God Bless you.

    Like

    1. Vijaya,

      What a lovely gift for the birthday girl. Good poem to sum up Donna’s family birthday traditions. I enjoy reading your posts. It’s nice to meet you here.

      Linda A.

      Like

  2. Donna,

    Happy birthday girl! Today is my mom’s birthday too. She is 77 and is still okay telling her age. I am baking a cake. It’s a mix, I must confess. We all gather for cake and ice cream for someone’s birthday and of course they get presents. Birthdays are fun, aren’t they? Your house sounds like it does it up right. I love the playfulness in your list of traditions. What a fun house to grow up in. Can I be adopted? Ha! Ha!

    Linda A.

    Like

  3. O.k. If any of you know my wife, then you know that she’s not big on bought cards. She’d much rather have something personally written. Furthermore, unlike me, she’s BIG on PDA. (Public Displays of Affection) So, I figured that I’d blog (public) about my affection for her; DISPLAYING it for all the world to see! So, my wife turns 50 today, or somewhere in that ballpark. But let me tell you, she’s got the spunk of a 20 year old. Actually, she’s 35 and acts very much her age. However, her wisdom is FAR beyond her years. That’s often both bad, and good, for me. As I’m 38 but act much like a teenager most of the time… We’ll, let’s just say that she is a SAINT for putting up with me! So, I suppose if you are reading this then you already know what an awesome writer she is, but did you also know that she is a great teacher to our three home schooled girls? They are all above their respective grade levels so she must be doing something right! Beyond that, she is just as pretty now as the day I met her. How many people could accomplish that after having, and raising, three girls and dealing with me for the better part of 17 years! I tell you all, she’s an amazing person. So, what’s next? After one of you awesome editors out there becomes the lucky editor to start her on her major book tour for any one of the number of best sellers that she has, we plan on buying a little plot of land in the mountains and start working on our retreat! It’s a dream, but a dream that is attainable. So, that’s my update for today. I just wanted you all to know how much I love my beautiful wife, friend, mother, teacher, writer that I’m so blessed to have married. Happy birthday, honey, I love you.

    Sean

    Like

    1. Sean,

      Not only are you a great guest blogger, you’re also a great guy to send out such a heartfelt message about Donna. May you two share many more wonderful birthdays together.

      Linda A.

      Like

  4. Sean, that was the best comment ever. I can’t really follow that except to say –
    Happy Birthday, Donna!!!
    I can tell with your wonderful family and those great rules this will be your best-ever birthday!

    Like

  5. So today is your big day? I’m ashamed that I didn’t know that! At our next Mudskipper’s meeting I’m going to find out everyone’s birthdate.

    Sean, no one could have said it better. I can just say a hearty “Amen!” to everything you said. You married one very special lady.

    Happy Birthday, Donna. I love you.

    Jean

    Like

  6. Vijaya, Linda, Angela, Jean and Brandy – Wow, y’all. YOu sure know how to make a girl feel special! 🙂 Thank you all for your sweet poems, words of love and sweet birthday wishes. A big ol’ cyber group hug to all of you!

    And SEAN…Double wow. I cried when I read your comment. You made me get all splotchety in the face! And the fact tha tyou got my age wrong made even sweeter! (I’m really 37 today, y’all. But it’s cool that he still thinks I’m 35!)

    I have to tell you all that Sean even bought me a domain name (www.donnaearnhardt.com) and has it pointing to this site for now. He’s also going to work on a website for us and for my books/writing in the next year. Isn’t that precious? 🙂

    Thank you all for being such sweet friends and letting me be the birthday queen today on my blog! You made the day even richer!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

