Maverick Monday: What’s on your plate?

Okay folks, today is Maverick Monday and I want us to share our goals and projects. Are you taking new classes? Subbing to publishers or signing a new contract? Are you attending a writer’s conference? Leading a workshop at one? Or just chilling and taking a break? Do you have a new book being published? Subbing to magazines? Have a poem being published somewhere? Have you finally finished the article you’ve been slaving over for weeks? Or are you laughing in the face of the mountain of revisions stacked in front of you?

On my writing plate:ย preparing to leadย a workshop at the upcoming Write2Ignite conference, polishing my latest pb and finding places to sub, querying agents and responding to their emails and preparing a “how to set up a wordpress blog/webpage” for my critique group.

And on my other plates: continue homeschooolingย to the best of my ability, lose 50 lbs (yeah, I know, ugh) and paint some of the rooms in my house.

What’s going on with you?

25 thoughts on “Maverick Monday: What’s on your plate?

  1. Keep my sanity. Life is nutty and I appreciate your prayers for my wrist and arm! I’ve started two new courses this semester, I’m revising Attack at Fleetwood Hill in first person, we’re building a go-kart track in our front yard, and I’m trying to lose weight. But God is good, and life is sweet because of His joy…regardless of wrist pain.

    Like

    1. I’m sorry your wrist is still hurting. I will pray for you, my friend. Good job on the revisions and school. YAY! and wow – a go-kart track? My kids and hubby would love you. ๐Ÿ™‚ YOu look great, to me, but if you are trying to lose weight, I know you can do it.

      I’m going to miss you in February…but maybe if I’m ever in Virginia we can meet up for hot cocoa?

      Like

  2. I am trying to write an article–although the ideas are eluding me. Very soon I’m going to send a childrens book manuscript to an agent I heard about–yeah, I know I don’t have a particular deadline in mind and that could be “deadly” to my project. Btw, what is “pb.” Forgive me for my literary ignorance. I’m new to all this writer stuff. And I’m glad you brought up your wordpress blog project. I’ve been wanting to ask you how it compares to blogspot, but didn’t know the venue for bringing that up with you. I feel like blogspot doesn’t have a lot of capabilities, although I do like some of the templates. What do you think?

    Like

    1. Hi Beth! A pb = picture book. mg = mid-grade and YA= young adult

      Congrats on sending out your manuscript! Have you had it critiqued already? And articles are fun to write. Have you ever subbed to Rx for Writers?

      I’m glad you asked about wordpress…I love it. I used to have a blogspot, but it wasn’t as flexible (in my opinion) as WordPress. WordPress is free (unless you pay for the upgrade) and you can use it as a blog AND a website. Lord willing my books will sell one day (soon, I hope!) and I can add a tab to the top of this page. I might even rearrange it a bit! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Once I get my notes in order, I can send them to you if you’d like. They won’t be as handy without the being in the meeting, but I’m still glad to share if you’d like.

      Blogspot is okay, and I like the templates, but WordPress has tons of templates, too, and you can upload your own header, change background colors (in many templates) and make it as unique as you want to. Once I started using WordPress, I was hooked. I’m still learning, but I can offer up this http://write2ignite.wordpress.com as an example of using wordpress as a website, rather than a blog. It’s not perfect – but it’s better than I could have done on blogspot. Other folks might be able to use blogspot as a website and do it well. I’m just not one of those folks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hope that helped. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Plate? How about plates. I’m loving all the things I do and with some comittments I made January 1 to discovering God’s priorities for my plates I’m seeing progress.

    Writing new memoir/essays for submissions to anthologies
    Re-working some OLD PB mss
    Finishing a YA
    Creating a proposal for an NF
    Keeping a committment to myself to sub SOMETHING every month
    Blogging
    Volunteer newsletter I write
    Leading a Bible class
    Grandmothering
    Wifing (is that a word?)
    Write2Ignite!
    Mudskippers

    Hmmmm…I think that about does it.

    Jean

    Like

    1. Jean! That sure is a lot of stuff. But with the Lord’s help, you can do it all and do it well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Mudskippers and Write2Ignite sure are glad to have you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      hugs,
      Donna

      p.s. I’m not sure wifing is a word – but I know what you’re talking about! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Boy, that’s a lot to juggle, esp. since you homeschool.
    I’ve my daily goals of reading, writing, praying, and that should lead to finishing my YA, and continuing working on shorts to the tune of one submission per month. And lose 30 lbs. I know the ugh feeling. But honestly, Donna, from your picture, I couldn’t tell you need to lose 50. You look so very pretty and healthy.

    Like

  5. Vijaya – Finishing that YA is huge. I’m proud of you. ๐Ÿ™‚ subbing once a month is great. You and Jean have that goal in common, I think. I want to do the same, but haven’t made out a schedule for it. And 30 lbs? You can do it! (though I don’t see where you need to)

    By the way, thanks for the sweet comments on my pic. But it’s only from the neck up. I’m between 50 and 60 pounds overweight. Yep. I have to get it off for my health. I started using the Wii Biggest Loser today.

    Ouch.

    hugs,
    Donna

    p.s. I agree with you – prayer is essential!

    Like

  6. Hi Donna,
    I’m tired already but have a warm cup of latte is waiting for me. Yum!
    I admire the versatility of your activities. Do you have a minute for yourself during the day?
    On my plate this week, month: a quiz tomorrow (school), critique to give to my critique groups, rough draft to edit and revise, Jane Austeen to read, as well as several children’s books. All that this week. ๐Ÿ™‚
    PS: Donna, we share the same weight goal. I’m going for 10/month… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Yes, I have some time to myself…kind of. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a laptop that I can take with me and sit with the kids while we all work. That is “semi” time to myself! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And wow – you are very busy, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      10 a month is doable. I’ll cheer you on…You can do it! ๐Ÿ™‚ (we all can!)

      peace,
      Donna

      Like

  7. I started my own blog (as you know, and it felt like a risk to me, so I’m proud I did it) and I finished a dummy I’ve been working on for awhile now. Just three finished illustrations (!) and I can start subbing it.

    Like

    1. Hi Constance! Way to go on the blog AND the dummy. So happy for you. Stepping out with new stuff can be intimidating…but rewarding. There is joy in the process! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Heading over to check out what’s on your blog today. ๐Ÿ™‚

      hugs,
      Donna

      Like

  8. Well…I am valiantly continuing my struggle against procrastination, but at times it is an uphill battle indeed.

    I am working on a fictionalized biography (in verse) of a historical figure, and am trying to decide whether it will work better as a PB (a la Carole Boston Weatherford’s “Moses” or “Before John Was a Jazz Giant”), or as an interlinked free-verse book (a la Tracie Vaughn Zimmer’s “reaching for sun”).

    I also have a couple of other ideas bouncing around in my head at the same time (ouch!), but am trying to focus on one thing at a time.

    Since I lost my muggle job this past summer, you would think I would have all the time in the world for writing and other fun things, but unfortunately seeking (other’s idea of) “gainful” employment is proving elusive and a full-time job.

    But I transgress, I mean, digress.

    Cheers all,

    Tim Keeton
    Poet/Wizard/Teller-of-tales
    http://timkeeton.com

    Like

    1. Finding a job IS a full time job, I know. A dear friend of mine has been out of work for a year. AT this moment, though, he is heading to school for work in the EMT field. He’s great guy. I think he’ll do wonderfully! (and his wife is in full support of the whole venture. You can’t get much better than that!) Have you considered going back to school? There are grants and such that might be available to you…

      Moses is a FABULOUS book. We read it and could NOT keep it to ourselves. We had to share it with our local library. Ms. Weatherford is a gifted lady, indeed!

      You sound busy, fella. Keep that pencil writing, though. You’ll have the book written in no time! ๐Ÿ™‚ (and keep on bloggin’. It keeps the creative juices flowin’!)

      Like

  9. I’ve ignored my writing for 3+ weeks so I am determined to get back to my final revisions today! I’ve been down with a cold, but I feel a little stronger today, so I have to just carve out some hours to do it and then get back into the writing routine. Then research and query agents!
    Plus my neverending goal of eating healthier and exercising. I exercise 4-5 times a week so that is good, but I loves me food! I just have to substitute my sweets more and eat smaller portions I think….

    Like

    1. Kelly! I’m so sorry you’ve been sick. I hope you are feeling MUCH better today. Less sweets and smaller portions is a good idea. I need to keep that at the forefront of my mind (and mouth). ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have fun on those revisions…and I look forward to seeing your entry in the poetry contest! ๐Ÿ™‚

      hugs,
      Donna

      Like

  10. Goals/Resolutions/Plans….

    I am approaching the last part of the Institute of Children’s Literature program (1 1/2-2year study). I am enrolled in an eight week novel writing course that begins January 20th. It is offered in Pittsboro through Central Carolina Community College with John Claude Bemis. I am attending Write2Ignite Conference in February.

    I am writing a PB I plan to submit to Slyan Dell. I sent out a query to Children’s Writer Magazine to submit an article. I’m still working part-time with the school system. When I get a chance to go somewhere for fun, I usually head to the mountains to our get-away there.

    All the best to everyone and their goals, resolutions and plans.

    Linda A.

    Like

    1. You are busy! I love that you take a break to the mountains, my friend. One day, I want to own a home up there, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Keep up the good work. I look forward to hearing more good news and goals! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Donna,

        You are so kind to respond to each of us the way you do. Thanks for all the encouragement you send out to ALL of us.

        Linda A.

        Like

  11. Thanks Donna! I’d appreciate any info you could send my way. My email is bethsteff@gmail.com. And I forgot to mention that I wanted to go to the writer’s conference you’ve been advertising, but that’s the weekend of my husband’s 50th B-day. He already told me he wants a big party and all the trimmings, so maybe the next time around. I had it all planned out–b/c his parents are in Knoxville, Tn. and I thought we could stay the night with them and then drive in the next day enjoying a leisurely little break from our normal routine. Oh well!

    Like

    1. I’ll get that info to you asap. I’ve got to get it ready for my writer’s group, then I’ll send it to you, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I wish you could come to the conference, but I understand. I hope we can see you at next year’s conference!

      Like

  12. Donna, I will be continuing to sub to mags and compilation book projects this year and also will be submitting poetry to Blue Mountain Arts. Am working on a submission right now. (One of my pieces is appearing in their Valentine’s Day line this year – Yay!) I’m also at work on a book project of my own and hope to make it to a writers conference at some point. I’m helping my daughter plan her July wedding so lots of time will be devoted to that as well.

    All the best to you in all you’re working on!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

