TAHT — a funny…and some good resources

On the way to my mom’s yesterday, my middle darling daughter (we’ll call her Sunshine) was in the backseat playing with a toy she received from Santa. She then spoke up and asked me a question:

Sunshine: Santa’s in the North pole, right?

Me: Um, what do YOU think?

Sunshine: Yeah. I think he’s in the North Pole…or China.

Me: China? Why China?

Sunshine: Because the tag on my toy says, “MADE IN CHINA”.

I almost had to pull over I was laughing so hard. 🙂

 

Okay, so here are a three great resources for homeschooling. I’ll list more in the coming weeks.

HSLDA: Homeschool legal defense association (the folks to call if you have any legal problems concerning homeschooling)

The Homeschool Mom: I just found this one today, but it looks great.

Enchanted Learning: A great place for handouts, coloring pages and info on all things learning related. (I use this a lot!)

If you homeschool and have any tips to share, I’d love to hear them. And if you don’t homeschool, but have tips to share….I’d love to hear those, too! 🙂

Thanks to all who continue to pray for us in our homeschool endeavors!

10 thoughts on “TAHT — a funny…and some good resources

  1. Hi Donna,

    We have a new assistant principal at my school. She is a wealth of information. Below are some websites she suggested teachers check out. I hope some of this is helpful to you.

    Linda A.

    From my assitant principal…
    I also found a website that discusses the ways to “interpret” the math word problems.
    http://www.purplemath.com/modules/index.htm and
    http://www.purplemath.com/modules/translat.htm

    This one has lots of links that deal with manipulatives and flashcards, as well as math games.
    http://www.mathplayground.com/index.html

    P.S. I loved the Santa story. I believe he must have lived in Japan when I was a child. I guess he moves from time to time.

    Like

  2. Donna and others,

    I APOLOGIZE…I didn’t mean to fill this space so many times. I didn’t think it was going through and so I tried different means to make it happen. My sincere apologies.

    Linda A.

    Like

  3. Hee hee … do you know that Santa doesn’t come to India? (even though he’s so close to China) or that he didn’t come to Texas the year we spent Christmas there?

    Well, I had to make something up quick.

    Gotta love those perceptive kids.

    Like

  4. I have homeschooled in the past; contemplating entering that arena again this fall. So much to think about along these lines. Not sure I have it in me; might not have a choice.

    I’ll check out these resources.

    Blessings and peace to you this weekend.

    ~elaine

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

