Tunes Tuesday!

I haven’t posted a Tunes Tuesday post in a while. It’s good to be back. 🙂

On Sunday, I was blessed to be given inspiration for a new song. Our pastor used the phrase, “We catch our breath…” in reference to being in God’s presence and His glory. I caught MY breath and wrote that phrase down on my paper, alongside all the other little tidbits I’d been writing during worship.  I could literally see myself at the piano working on this song – but I am NOT a piano player. I know some chords and WISH I was a piano player. 🙂

So, I got home, got lunch for the family and broke out my guitar.

NOTHING worked.

Again, that image of me sitting at the piano was in my brain and I knew I had to do it. So…I did.

I sat at the piano and it didn’t take too long before much of the melody and basic (very basic) chord structure was laid out. I called a dear sweet friend of mine (who also happens to be my oldest dd’s choir teacher) and played it for her. Then I sent recorded it and sent it to her so she could collaborate with me.

She called me back that night and WOW! She had already taken the chords, added more chords, fill-ins and then… harmony! I got chills!!!

We are getting together on Wednesday, hopefully, to work on it more and get a rough recording together. I’m so excited!!

Okay, enough about me. Here is a new tune a friend sang in church on Sunday. My friend has a lovely voice, but this was the most beautiful I’ve ever heard her sing. She had a vulnerability to her that can only be described as worshipful…because you could tell she WAS worshiping.  The song is WHat do I know of Holy? by Addison Road. I don’t have a recording of my friend singing it, but I do have the youtube of the group singing it below. I hope you have time to listen and watch.

7 thoughts on “Tunes Tuesday!

  1. Donna,

    Congratulations on your songwriting experience and your friend’s assistance. I admire you for working it up even though you don’t claim to play piano. I am so happy for you. Many people get inspirations but don’t act on them. You did!

    I loved “What Do I Know of Holy” by Allison Road. She had me in tears near the end. That was so touching.

    I can’t wait to hear your new song. Go Donna!

    Linda A.

    Like

    1. Vijaya – I am going to my friend’s house tomorrow to work on it. I might be able to post a link so you can hear a rough version of it tomorrow or Thursday. Then I’ll post the lyrics, too.

      Thank you for your encouragement! You are fabulous! 🙂

      Like

  2. Donna, I think it is so cool how the Lord is opening up doors for you! I bet you didn’t hear one word of that sermon either, did ya? LOl! Can’t wait to hear more about it.

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

