Maverick Monday: Discipline

I’m unorganized. Big deal, right? Lots of folks aren’t organized. 

But… I’m undisciplined.

And that IS a big deal.

I can be an unorganized person and still be a disciplined person.

Unfortunately, I’m neither.

This week, however, I’m working on both.

I’m breaking out my Bible.

I’m going to the Lord in prayer.

I’m insisting the schedules be met AND kept with my kiddos. Period.

I’m exercising REGULARLY.

And I’m breaking out my FlyLady book and getting down to business.

With the Lord’s help, this undisciplined girl is going to get disciplined in lots of areas. 

I won’t pretend it’s going to be easy OR fun. But it is a necessity.

Are YOU disciplined? If not, what keeps you from being disciplined in your daily goals?

12 thoughts on “Maverick Monday: Discipline

  1. Donna,

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. Be sure you don’t set yourself up for failure by trying to make too many changes at once. Celebrate your successes too! Have you seen Joan’s certificates for SubPub3rdFri? You might want to do something similar for yourself or have a weekly contract. Some teachers make them for their students. I wish you well.

    One new discipline I have is I walk/jog a mile and a half or more four days a week. I go as hard as I can. I’ve been at this since July. It’s a life style change and I’m glad I made it a priority. I wanted to be more healthy.

    If I had to judge myself, I’d give myself a higher grade in discipline than organization. I think I’m pretty okay with who I am. I’m by no means near perfect, but then who is?

    Love yourself and thank God for your talents and skills. You are such a special lady.

    Love,
    Linda A.

    Like

  2. Jean and Linda – thanks for the support! 🙂

    I’m really NOT beating up on myself. I’ve just been convicted by our loving heavenly Father that there are some places in my life that need re-adjusting. I know I am loved…period. 🙂

    I’m so glad He loves me where I am.
    But I’m glad He loves me too much to leave me there! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m on a parallel path as you at the moment, D. There are areas of my life where I’ve grown VERY undisciplined. How about I count you as one of my accountability partners?

    Tameka

    Like

  4. Donna, I missed you … and here I am, being undisciplined. But you know what? Seeing that familiar face made me feel good, and I completely empathize with your struggles regarding discipline. God be with you.

    Like

  5. Someone on a yahoo list turned me on to Sandra Felton. While I liked Fly Lady I never felt like I could keep up with her system and emails. I love Sandra so much better than Fly Lady for that very reason and she’s got a Christian perspective, too. http://www.messies.com/ Sign up for her Daily coaching. I love her approach.

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

