Taking it to the streets

Okay, so I am mixing it up a little. It’s my blog, I can do that.

I went jogging with my 12 yr old DD this evening. We started training for a 5K.

Wow.

It’s been almost 2 years since I’ve trained for any kind of running event.

And my DD has never trained for any type of running event. Ever.

It was hard for me.

It was a piece of cake for her.

And it was a fabulous night for both of us!

We ended up jogging/walking 1.5 miles in 20 minutes. That’s an unoffical 13.1 minute-mile! We are trying to reach a 10 minute mile. It’s going to take a while, but we’ll get there.

And the most important thing?

We’ll get there together.

6 thoughts on “Taking it to the streets

  1. Donna,

    Congratulations! WOW! Will this be a nightly run several times a week? Good luck meeting your goal. How cool that you and your daughter are doing this together. I’m excited about your 5K Run. You can do it!

    I know a counselor, runner, and writer named Tom Carr from NC. He has a book called Got Grit? and a program at his school based on the ideas in his book. I think you’d find some helpful ideas in it for homeschooling and encouraging your girls to develop grit. Check him out if you can. The book is published by Youth Light Publishers. He has other books too and often leads workshop sessions at the NC School Counselors Conference. He is full of energy and hardly comes up for air. I hope you get to meet him sometime.

    Love,
    Linda A.

    Like

  2. Linda, Write, Amy, Jean and Christy —

    Thank you all for your support and kind comments! Our second training is today, so we are going to have to work around an unexpected schedule. I’m hoping we get in some “hill” work today. Hard stuff – but good stuff!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

