Maverick Monday!

Today is Maverick Monday here on my blog. So following the lead of one of my lovely blogging friends, Cheryl (check out her blog at http://cherylbarker.blogspot.com/), I’m going to ask a few questions and would love to get your feedback.

Today I am focusing on “gifts”. I am not talking about a box of chocolates. I’m talking about the gifts God has given you. Maybe you are an encourager, a teacher or a visionary. Maybe you have the gift of keeping order or bringing the gift of God’s joy to difficult situations.

God is the giver of good gifts and He gives us all a gift. He’s wonderful that way. What is YOUR gift? Have you found it yet? Or is it sitting dormant, unopened, just waiting to be used? Let’s get to some questions. (And if you don’t yet know what your gift is, spend some time praying about it.)

1. What do you think is one of your strongest gifts? Do you use this gift on a daily basis?

2. What do you do to develop this gift and the other gifts God has given you?

3. What do you consider your weakness? Why?

4. Do you concentrate on your weakness or on developing the gift God has given you?

5. Do you have a deep desire to do something in life that you have not yet done? Have you prayed about it and asked God to reveal His will for you in that area? If He has said YES, then what are you waiting on?

8 thoughts on “Maverick Monday!

  1. Donna,

    My best days are the ones spent being very creative. It may involve creating a follow-up activity for a story read in class, or writing an action poem for our upcoming Vacation Bible School, or catching a quote in a book that triggers me to begin another book manuscript, etc. Usually, the creativity centers around writing or creating something that could be written. I share this gift with the children of my church weekly in the children’s church bulletin and I’ve sold creative activities to church magazines.

    I am following my dream and allowing God to open the doors he wants me to enter. Although I have my weaknesses, I try to focus on all that God has blessed me with. I am rich indeed.

    Linda A.

    Like

  2. Donna, what a surprise to come over and see my name and link in your post — thanks! 🙂

    1. One of my strongest gifts is encouragement. I hope my twice weekly blog posts are encouraging to those who read, but I also try to encourage others in other ways as well (hopefully daily!).

    2. Like anything else, we develop gifts by using them, right?!

    3. Just one? 🙂 A couple come to mind quickly. It’s hard for me to be flexible and also I’m too introspective. The introspection can keep me way too wrapped up in myself — not at all what the Lord wants.

    4. I think I concentrate on both — that introspective nature at work…

    5. I’m lucky enough to get to pursue a desire — writing. It’s more of a call actually. And because it can be awfully hard work, sometimes I desire to quit! 🙂

    Like

  3. I think one of my strongest gifts is the gift of compassion… as CS Lewis would say, having the capacity to “get inside another’s skin.” I don’t have to work very hard at feeling it; where the rub comes is in doing something alongside my feeling. Sometimes I get lazy with my compassion, and I need the prompt of God to move forward with action.

    Thanks for stopping by this week and for encouraging my heart. What a gift this has been to me from God.

    peace~elaine

    Like

  4. ooooo, good stuff! One of my favorite gifts that God has blessed me with is the gift of gab and encouragement. I just love talking to strangers. Sometimes strangers will tell other strangers things that they wouldn’t share with anyone else. One of my favorite things to do is to park myself in the E.R. waiting room. I’ve had the opportunity to do that a couple of times and I’ve been so blessed by crying and talking with complete strangers.

    Like

  5. Hi all! Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your answers.
    I think it’s very easy to get caught up in our weaknesses instead of focusing on our strength through God. But we can do all things through Christ who strenghtens us, right? 🙂

    Like

  6. Great post … and I’m coming to it rather late, but in a timely manner since next Sunday is Pentecost, the birth of the Church. When I went through RCIA (rite of Christian Initiation for adults) we were given a booklet at Pentecost to assess Gifts. Some were obvious, but others, I was surprised to see …

    Strongest gift: to teach. It’s in my bones. I’ve been doing it since I was a child albeit I also taught “bad English” words.
    Daily use: Yes and No. I’m a mother and invariably I use teaching moments. But I also teach in a professional capacity.
    How to develop it: by doing more of it 🙂
    Other gifts: Love of knowledge and learning, writing, and even spreading the Word. I didn’t know I could but I can’t stop because how can I keep the Good News to myself?
    Weaknesses: Too many. Self-indulgence, excess of food, internet, that kind of thing.
    You know, I try a two-prong approach — try to minimize the weaknesses and develop the gifts. I seem to go in waves, good periods followed by falling into the old traps, and so I am always asking for guidance, help.
    And yes, I have prayed a lot about my writing, in the direction it is going. And God keeps saying Yes. So, it’s clear that I am supposed to be concentrating on writing as well as raising my family.

    Thanks for making me think some more 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

