Homeschool snow days? I don’t think so!

If your kids have the day off for snow – I’m sure they’re excited. I bet they could hardly wait to see the “School’s closed!” report. I bet they danced around singing, “We don’t have schoo–ool! We don’t have schoo–ool!”

I bet they are bugging you about playing in the snow (if they haven’t already) and figuring out a snowman design. Maybe they found the sled and have it waiting by the door.

My girls, however, have mixed emotions.

They are bouncing off the walls at the thought of  breaking out the sled and spending the day in the white stuff. They are excited about donning their snow clothes and making angels.   They are elated about seeing mom do the same thing! 🙂

But they can’t sing the “We don’t have schoo–ool! We don’t have schoo–ool!” song. 

And they are none to happy about it!

Yes, I’m the mean homeschool mama who makes them do schoolwork when it’s snowing.

There is no reason NOT to do schoolwork! We don’t have to rely on a bus or carpool. We don’t even have to leave the house! (HOMEschool…yep.)

I know it seems mean, but there is a method to my madness.

They still get to go outside and play. They still get to sled. They still get to make snow angels. BUT…

They also still get to do math, language arts, science, reading, history, and anything else on their school schedule.

If we take today as a “snow day”, then we have to make it up on a “non-snow” day. Why would I want to do that? I don’t.

If you homeschool, I’d love to hear what you do on days like this. Maybe I’m the only one who tortures my kids with schoolwork. If I am, DON’T tell my kids, please.

And if you don’t homeschool, I’d love to hear what you do on snow days. If you have snow day activities, share. I’m always up for good ideas!

I better go. I have some kiddos planning a snowman design without me.

20 thoughts on “Homeschool snow days? I don’t think so!

  1. No snow here in Winston-Salem yet, but it’s on its way. We will be starting on the school science fair project – Crystals (i.e., Rock Candy Science). I’ll also make a batch flavored & colored with Koolaid for them to eat, not to be included in the science project. Of course, this project takes a week to develop, so we’ll just get it started then go play in the snow!

    Have fun!

    Like

    1. That sounds like a load of fun, Kristi. I think my 8 year old would love the rock candy science. I’ve tossed around the idea – but haven’t yet taken the plunge!

      Like

  2. LOL. I raised 5 boys and I remember those days so well, No School! So, please tell your girls I sympathize. Home-schooling definitely has one downfall. LOL. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Donna.

    Like

  3. Another Mean Mommy raising her hand – Me!

    Would you believe this is our FIRST day back to school? ;p Oh well, the first day it will be. I woke my girls up, fed them a healthy breakfast of oatmeal with bananas, walnuts, and cream – and we began our morning promptly at 8am with bible as school always does. We went on to our math lessons, then science. Now they are outside for a snow break before lunch. They’ll come in and eat, we’ll go back to school, and then I’ll throw them back outside around 3pm for afternoon play.

    I think Mean Mommies are the most balanced people on the planet.

    Like

  4. NOT doing school. I am in a neighborhood full of public school kids that are home for the day because of the snow and the bell started ringing bright and early. Honestly, it is just easier to let them have a “snow day” with the rest of their friends!

    Like

  5. We’re doing a half day today. Tomorrow, public school will be out, but we will do a full day. I’d much rather bank days for when we can enjoy them rather than waste them for a few minutes of freezing fun followed by hours of cleaning up after them. 🙂

    April

    Like

  6. I don’t do a full day of homeschooling! My boys friends are out of school so why not let them play??? I am a mom who homeschools through the Summer so maybe that is why I don’t mind a snow day or two…besides it allows me to sleep in a bit 🙂

    Like

  7. You all are great! We homeschool all year, so I don’t usually mind a few days off, either. But since we had about 2 1/2 weeks off for the Christmas/New Year’s holidays, last week was our first week of the new semester. It went great! I just can’t see stopping the momentum today. BUT… I am looking forward to sledding with them this afternoon.

    I must say, though, the attitudes today have NOT been the greatest. It might have been easier just to say yes to the snow day. BUt – I made the decision and I’m sticking with it.

    Jamie – if I had a neighborhood full of kids who had the day off, it might have been a way harder decision. We have very few kids on our street (most of the ones who are here are way older or way younger than mine) so we don’t have to take that into consideration. But I completely understand!

    Like

  8. Hi Donna! It’s a school day here for us, too! It means I have to allow for distraction, not just from the snow but hubby is home, too! LOL We’re on our way outside now for some family fun in the snow – then back to the books this afternoon – just reading and drawing, the more enjoyable things. Have fun building the snowman! Love the works of art in the snow and expirements that occur these days. We looked at the snowflakes tis morning as they landed on black construction paper and I was amazed at how you can see the shapes even without a magnifier. If you have a magnifying loop, take a look – they are beautiful creations! (This I considered our science expirement for the day! 🙂

    Like

  9. Hubby and I are doing a jigsaw puzzle. As a former student and teacher I am a big believer in the joy of snow days. But I know how hard it is to get back in the rhythm afterward.

    Maybe relaxing the schedule a bit would be good. Sleeping a little longer. Hot chocolate break or a totally new way of learning something – like doing a SKYPE interview with some expert or looking up historical or math info on YouTube. There are some amazing educational videos posted.

    But then, again – maybe you’re already learning in really fun ways!

    Like

  10. A few more things to do in school…then out to play! We will come back in, warm up our toes and let the dry the clothes, drink some hot cocoa, then do more school until the clothes dry. Then, back out again.

    I love the idea of the snowflake/construction paper investigation! Off to find some paper!

    Like

  11. Oh… and we definitely slept in! 🙂 We don’t start school right at 8am anyway. We start more like 9 or 10…then go longer in the afternoon.

    I love seeing all the varied responses! Great ideas, everyone!

    Like

  12. Perfect opportunity to explore earth science (climatology), math (if snow=water, how much water is your back yard getting? or, if the snow is falling at x-rate, how much snow will you get in y hours?), history (great snow events of the past), You could–in your spare time : ) –make up a snow day activity kit. The possibilities are endless–trajectory & velocity of snowballs, crystalline structure, snow-sculpture (art), snow poetry, . . . have fun!

    Like

  13. We had school today, too. We did math as usual. Then, we composed a paragraph describing the snowy scene outside. Our science activity was to make snow cream while predicting and observing the changes made by adding the ingredients and stirring. Finally, we had a “read in” for reading. (That’s read the book you got from the library on Saturday for at least 20 minutes).
    The rest of the day was spent at PE- playing outside!! 🙂

    Lots of fun learning with that. Looking forward to more FUN snow day activities tomorrow!

    Hoping to make a photo memory book using our creative writings. Trying to find more fun ideas now.

    Like

  14. When the weather’s nice and the only place they want to be is outside, I bet they’ll thank you for making them do school on a snowy day. And try not to feel bad — Moms are supposed to be mean 🙂

    Like

  15. Cheryl… thank you! I feel mean all the time. *sigh* Today, my youngest was being stubborn. Refused to admit it. I told her to go sit on her bed. She acted as if I’d asked her to move the Blue Ridge parkway one rock at a time…by herself. Yeah. It’s been that kind of day. 🙂 I needed your encouragement. Thank you so much!

    Val – thanks for stopping by, friend! I liked your suggestions!

    And to all the other “mean” mommies and “non-mean” variety…thank you all! I’ve enjoyed your responses and really have acquired some great nuggets of wisdom!

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

