Net Niblets and Nuggets #2

More niblets and nuggets for the discerning palate

Highlights for ChildrenThey run a contest every year and the deadline is the last day of this month. Details of the contest are HERE. For regular submissions, they give detailed needs and instructions for their magazine on their “contributor guidelines” page, found here.

Joyce Moyer Hostetter – What do West Africa, Lithuania, Hawaii, Prague, Krakow and Alaska all have in common? They are just a few of the places Joyce has traveled to chase down the truth behind history. If you want to dig a little deeper into history, start the adventure here:  http://joycemoyerhostetter.com/

Carol Baldwin – Carol writes. Carol teaches. Carol writes about teaching and teaches about writing! Her book, “Teaching the Story: Fiction Writing in Grades 4-8” is perfect for anyone who longs to teach (or be taught) the joy AND technique of writing.  So if you have a hankering for some yummy info, you can find it here: http://carolbaldwinblog.blogspot.com/

The Blue Board – If you haven’t checked out the Blue Board, you need to go now! (No, wait…finish reading my post first. Then go. 🙂 )

Verla’s can be overwhelming if you’ve never participated in a message board community. BUT, take it slow. Once you get the hang of it, you’ll love it. The info is free…and top-notch! There is a response times thread for every agent, editor and magazine you can think of! There are fab people who welcome you with open arms, so don’t be afraid!

One note: You need to participate — not just soak up the info. If you really want the full blessing of what the site has to offer, you need to step out. Even wallflowers need sunshine and watering…and that is what Verla’s provides!

Remember: All Niblets and Nuggets are fat-free and calorie free…so join in on the feast!

(huge thanks to Morguefile for the free use of the sweet niblets above!)

7 thoughts on “Net Niblets and Nuggets #2

  1. Donna,
    This is the second time recently that you’ve mentioned Verla Kay’s site to me. I will do more than glance over it soon. Promise! And you know I love Joyce and Carol’s stuff! I have a big desire to be published in Highlights. I just sent them two rebuses. All good recommendations! Thanks for the diet delights.
    Linda A.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Donna, for mentioning me. Where in the world do you find time to blog so much? I haven’t even had time to respond to your last blog and you’re up and at it again! And who knew that Jocye had been to all those places??? There’s lots to know about that gal!

    Like

    1. Carol – it helps when I have a schedule. I can brainstorm while folding clothes and such. I also try to get a few blogs ahead…and put them in the “draft” or “scheduled to post” folder.

      And I’m so glad to share your link/info. You are fabulous!

      Jean – I’d love to go, too. I looked at the schedule, though, and it falls right on my anniversary weekend. BUMMER! Maybe one year my hubby and I can go together! 🙂

      Linda and Joyce – I understand! Verla’s is full of great info – but you have to figure out how to get the most out of it. If you sign up, let me know. I’d love to connect with you on there!

      Joyce – I’m glad I can share your links. I think anyone who visits your site will be impressed!

      Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

