Friday Quotes: Humanity

When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, “I used everything you gave me.” — ERMA BOMBECK

“Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves; and, under a just God, can not long retain it.” April 6, 1859 – ABRAHAM LINCOLN  in a Letter to Henry Pierce **

 

 Where after all do universal human rights begin? In small places, close to home – so close and so small that they cannot be seen on any map of the world. Yet they are the world of the individual person: The neighborhood he lives in; the school or college he attends; the factory, farm or office where he works. Such are the places where every man, woman, and child seeks equal justice, equal opportunity, equal dignity without discrimination. Unless these rights have meaning there, they have little meaning anywhere. Without concerted citizen action to uphold them close to home, we shall look in vain for progress in the larger world. — Eleanor Roosevelt, Remarks at the United Nations, March 27, 1953 **

 

  **Abe L. quote from http://www.nps.gov/abli/forteachers/upload/LIncolnQuotesonSlavery.pdf  and E.Roosevelt quote from http://www.nps.gov/archive/elro/who-is-er/er-quotes/

10 thoughts on “Friday Quotes: Humanity

  1. Hi Donna,
    Great quotes! Erma Bombeck said something like, “If you want to be a writer, just write.” I kept that one on the corner of my mirror for years. For more on Eleanor Roosevelt, see the March 2011 issue of Cobblestone magazine. Great stuff! And Abraham Lincoln is known for great messages in small packages. The Gettysburg Address was not admired or appreciated for years. How could that be? Thanks for sharing. What a fun way to start a day.
    Linda A.

    Like

  2. Love those quotes, especially the first two. Your comments on my blog made me laugh!! I’ll sign you up for a cork board project after I do my mother’s (in PA!) & go organize another reader’s complete house in TN :-D.

    Like

  3. Amazing quotes! Thank you, Donna. The first one especially has me ponder about the use I make of my talents. I’m nowhere near to say, “I’ve used all that You gave me.” It makes me think of the responsibilities we have to nurture and to share. You never know the blessings it could be for others…

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

