PBLC: Picture Book Love Contest!

THE CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED. WINNERS WILL BE ANNOUNCED IN A NEW POST FRIDAY NIGHT!

It’s been a while since I’ve had a contest. So, I need to rectify the situation. And guess what? It starts today!  Here’s the skinny…

I love writing for children. I especially love writing picture books. I love learning more about the “ins and outs” of the process. I love helping others learn, too. So…

See the book cover below?

If you are writing for kids or thinking of writing for kids, this needs to be on your shelf. I bought myself one tonight…and one for the blog winner. 🙂

(I’ll also throw in a free critique – from me – if the winner has a pb they need critiqued.)

How do you win? Here are the rules:

1. Share on your blog, facebook or tweet about the PBLC.

2. Leave a comment in the comment section (below) telling where you shared the info AND tell me if you just want the book or if you want the book/critique combo (if you happen to win).

3. I’ll put all the names in a bowl and have my handsome hubby (@searnhardt on Twitter) pull a name from the batch on February 11, 2011  – sometime after 9pm EST. So get your names in before then!

4. If your name is drawn, you win my second copy of Picture Writing by the fabulous Anastasia Suen! (And a free PB critique from me, if you so choose). Easy as that. I’ll announce the winner sometime on Saturday, February 12.

p.s. Click HERE for Anastasia’s site. She is a prolific writer and shares her knowledge through online workshops. 

ONE more thing — If you decide to buy your own copy, you will find (as I did) that it is out of print and has been for a while. I ordered it from an online store.

Some things in the picture book industry have changed over the years, and Mrs. Suen has kept up with the changes in her online workshops and classes. She has a list of her students with published books here: http://www.asuen.com/workshops/?p=w.students  You might notice some familiar names on there: Laura Purdie Salas
Tammi Sauer
, Kelly Starling Lyons just to name a few! I hope to take her class one day, too. If you have taken one of her classes or plan to, I’d love to hear about it!

32 thoughts on “PBLC: Picture Book Love Contest!

  1. I posted on FB and would love the critique as well. Thanks for a great contest- I don’t have this book yet and have the perfect place on my shelf (OK really the stacks on top of my overflowing shelves but shhh…) for it!

    Like

  2. Good Morning Donna!

    I would be interested in the book and the critique as well. I shared on my blog southernasbiscuits.blogspot.com and on facebook – does that equal two entries? 😉 Thanks for the great contest!

    Like

  3. This contest sounds awesome, Donna! Thanks for having it. Ooh, I’d love to win, all my books burned last year so this would be a new first book. I linked the contest on my FB and Twitter. The prize sounds very informative for a picture book authro. I’d love the critique too, if I win.

    Like

  4. Kristi – THank you for sharing both places! I thought about giving double entries, but then realized some folks might only be on twitter OR facebook and some might not have a blog. So, I decided it would easier (and more fair) to give one entry per person. Feel free to share as many places as you want, though. LOL! 🙂 You are officially on the “bowl list”. 🙂

    Cali – all your books burned? 😦 I’m glad you are okay, though! Thank you for sharing the link. Your name is on the “bowl list”!

    Pascale – Thank you for sharing both places! Your name is added to the bowl list, too!

    Like

    1. You are TOO funny!

      Anyone who is reading this MUST go to Jean’s blog – http://jeanmatthewhallwords.blogspot.com. She is fabulous! She is reading through the book now and sharing her journey on her blog. I’m learning a ton just by reading what she’s learning. 🙂

      I’m prepared, though, for her next blog contest to be even bigger and better than mine. It’s how she rolls. 😉 (Love you, Jean-Jean!)

      Like

  5. Hi Donna,
    I would love the critique too!! I have been meaning to get this book for years!! I have posted on my Facebook page the link to your blog and regards to the contest.
    Thanks so much for the chance to be a winner!!!

    Like

  6. Donna, I hope I’m not too late for your delightful contest–it took me awhile to get this comment thing figured out–but if I am too late I’ve at least had the fun of checking out your awesome website/blog.

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

