Waking up Grumpy: V-Day a day late or…

I love Valentine’s Day. It’s one of my fave days of the year. It’s a “free-4-all” for all of us huggy, sappy, “all we need is love” type folks.

So why didn’t I post anything yesterday?

I don’t know. I just didn’t. It didn’t feel right.

Maybe I didn’t want my words to be caught in the vast sea of V-Day posts. Maybe I just wasn’t feeling as poetic as I usually do on that day. Or maybe I was just being lazy!

Whatever the reason, yesterday is gone and today is February 15. Does that mean it’s too late to share how I feel about my family? Is it too late to shout how much I love them? Is it too late for a “heart check-up”?

You know the answer, don’t you?

As long as God gives a way to communicate, it’s never too late to tell someone you love them. It’s never too late to let them know how much they mean to you.

If you missed yesterday’s festivities, don’t let that stop you! Call your mom, dad, sister, brother or friends…and say, “I LOVE YOU.” (Too many people never do – and most regret it.) Tell your wife or hubby how happy you are when you are with them. Tell your best friend what a blessing they have been to you! Tell your children the joy they’ve brought. Tell your parents how much you appreciate their wisdom and unconditional love.

What if you don’t have that type of relationship with your family? Maybe it’s time to move forward in love and forgive them. Forgive yourself. Because forgiveness is woven into the very fabric of love. (Remember – You don’t have to like someone to love them!)

And then – when you think you can’t find anyone else to thank, remember the One who made all those other relationships possible and the Author of all good gift you have been given…

1 Chronicles 16:34
Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever.

Colossians 3:17
And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Romans 1:8a
First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you…

Colossians 3:16
Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.

Is there someone you need to give thanks for? Someone you need to call or write? What are you waiting for?

5 thoughts on “Waking up Grumpy: V-Day a day late or…

  1. I am thankful for you, Donna. Who would have guessed two strangers on Twitter could have such a neat bond? You are like a sister to me, and I’ve enjoyed laughing, playing, and sharing prayer requests with you.

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

