What are you doing?

Are we writing? Studying? Exercising? Going deeper in our faith? Loving that person that is hard to love? Or are we just throwing up smoke and mirrors convincing ourselves that we are doing as much as we can?

Last week I watched an episode of Ruby that made me think that sometimes we can convince ourselves we are doing far more than we are. It’s easy to do.

In Ruby’s case, she kept telling her friends she was dedicated to losing the weight. She said she was exercising. Eating right. She said all the right things.

But then she got on the scales. She had gained 60lbs. Her words were trumped by her actions…and the scales proved it.

How many times have we done the same thing? Are we really doing what we say we’re doing? We might be talking about it…but are we walking it out?

Lord, show us the places in our lives that need clarification. Show us where we’ve used smoke and mirrors to keep from going deeper in our relationships, spiritual growth and physical fitness. And when you give us clarity, Lord, remind us of your grace. And when you remind us of your grace, give us a plan to get back on track and the endurance to see it through. Amen!

p.s. If you’d like to read more about Ruby’s journey, check out this link: http://www.thatsfit.com/2011/03/03/ruby-admits-to-weight-gain-on-today-show/

9 thoughts on “What are you doing?

  1. I need to buckle down on the eating right path. I overindulged last week, so back on the right track.
    But yes, people do need to be honest with themselves in order to grow and succeed.

    Like

  2. Donna,

    There are times when we don’t want to face the reality of our situation and do what it takes to make a change. For example, my doctor wanted me to lose some weight. I was resistant, but I knew for my health, I should. I’ve lost some pounds and feel far better. My bloodwork is better too. It certainly takes more than saying all the right things. Scales, lab results, clothes that “shrink” will find you out, if it’s only talk. I’m giving praise to the Lord who gave me strength when I didn’t have it myself.

    Linda A.

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

