You say Po-tay-to. I say Booger.

My kids like to play PUNCH BUG and CRUISER BRUISER. You know, the wonderfully special game in which one member of the family punches another member of the family in the arm when a Volkswagon Bug is spotted, or when a Chrysler PT Cruiser comes in view.

I just love this game so very, very much. *Cue the sarcastic eyebrow raise.*

The kiddos also accumulate points for spotting ambulances  – 5 points (but not if they have their lights on)- and 10 points for a pink Bugs. They get tons of points for other vehicles, but I’m too busy trying to keep the peace (and of course, drive) to keep it all straight.

So when my youngest DD spotted one of these “other” cars today, I wasn’t ready for it.

“BOOGER!” she hollered. “CALLED IT!”

“BOOGER?” I was confused. And a little disgusted. So I asked the question I wasn’t sure I wanted to ask. “What in the world is a booger?” (Other than the obvious particle usually associated with the nostrils.)

“You know,” she said, not confused at all. “That little, weird car. The Booger!”

My oldest, who speaks the “PUNCH BUG” language, had an epiphany. “YOU mean a SPEC?” (That’s what they call those funky, tiny, smart-cars that look like toys.)

“YEAH! THAT’S IT!” the youngest DD agreed, giggling.

I busted out in a full blown GUFFAW.

She meant what she said… but didn’t say what she meant. Happens that way a lot around here. We say stuff that doesn’t comeout exactly the way it was supposed to.

Sometimes, it’s funny. REALLY funny. Sometimes, it’s not.

Other times, when we can’t find the right words, we need someone who can actually hear what we are trying to say. And have grace when we don’t get it right.

And sometimes, we just need to learn when to keep our pie-holes shut! (Psalm 141:3 “Post a guard at my mouth, God, set a watch at the door of my lips.)  

In the following video – Tim Hawkin shares some things NOT to say to your wife… or anyone else! Better to keep that pie-hole shut! 🙂

And in this video, he MEANT to share something good… but miscommunication got in the way.

(YES, I Looked it up. 🙂 It’s there. 🙂 check it out in the KJV version andPsalm 38:7 King James Version (KJV) —7For my loins are filled with a loathsome disease: and there is no soundness in my flesh.)

May your weekend be filled with the words you MEAN to say and SHOULD say…and grace-filled ears that understand you, even if/when you miss the mark!

Be blessed!

15 thoughts on “You say Po-tay-to. I say Booger.

  1. Donna,
    You are the best at sharing something everyone can relate to. I laughed until I cried when I watched the video about the quoted Bible verse. Bless you for sharing wisdom found in everyday events and things.
    Linda A.

    Like

  2. Donna,
    I loved this. When we lived in England the game was PINCH COOPERS. One player got to pinch the others when he saw a mini-Cooper first. And, yes I know about keeping the peace while trying to drive–try doing it on the wrong side of the road on very narrow cobbled streets!
    I love when children make up their own language. Please congratulate your daughter for me. I do envy you having this rich resource living in your house. Enjoy them.

    Like

    1. Hi Joy! Pinch Coopers, eh? Sounds like a game my children do NOT need to know! LOL! And I know what you mean about enjoying them… I really do! They make life interesting on a level I can’t really explain. And I love it all!
      BTW – Living in England sounds like a great adventure. I bet you got some great ideas for poetry and books over there!

      Like

  3. I took a bit to get going, but then I was laughing hard. Needed that! Thank you Donna and kiddos. All of us who manage to say what we don’t mean and sometimes not mean what we say- take comfort.

    Like

  4. Hi Donna,

    When our kids were small we got tired of all the punching and they played Hug Bug when they spotted a Volkswagen. I’d never heard of all the other variations. I think I’d want my kids to stay home 😉

    OhMyGosh – those videos were hysterical. I haven’t laughed that hard in ages. Thanks so much for sharing them =D

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

