GUEST POETS!

Today I have the sweet pleasure of posting a poem written by my 8yo and 9 yo. They collaborated and have been working on this all day. I’m just the publisher!

ENJOY!

Pancake Tortoise

By Zee and Cee

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                I have him as a pet

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                I caught him in a net

 

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                He likes to bike and dance

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                He won the Tor-toise-France

 

I have Pancake Tortoise

                Today he’s feeling blue

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                I think he’s got the flu

 

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                He’s in the zoo quartet

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                He plays the clarinet

 

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                He made this poem fun

I have a Pancake Tortoise

                 He says this poem is done

 

 

For more info on the Pancake Tortoise, here are a few links:

http://www.knoxville-zoo.org/case-studies/70

http://www.tortoisetrust.org/articles/pancake.htm

http://www.unc.edu/~dtkirkpa/stuff/pancake.html

14 thoughts on “GUEST POETS!

  1. Donna,

    What fun! I’m hoping more Pancake Tortoise poems will follow. Perhaps one about a day at the Tor-toise-France or a day with the Pancake Tortoise on a bike–move over Curious George. Who knows?

    Thanks for sharing girls. Keep writing!

    Like

  2. Boy, that would make a cute picture book. I can see it. I’m not sure what a pancake tortoise looks like. Might I suggest they try to draw the character. I love it. My grandkids are always making up stories. That’s where all my kid’s books come from – spending time with kids! It’s the best assignment God has ever given me.

    Like

  3. On behalf of my cutie-patooties, I thank you all! I will let them read the comments tomorrow. I know they’ll be grinning from ear to ear.

    I’m so glad y’all “got” the joke about tor-toise-France. My hubby is a cyclist and this line made him laugh b/c we’ve been watching the Tour-de-France for the last few years!

    Like

  4. You all are the best. Thank you for all your sweet words. YOu make them feel great!

    I spent the day with the sweet poets helping them get their room clean. That was soooo much less fun than it sounds like. Really.

    Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

