Blog Hop

I’ve been asked by my friend, Brenda Sturgis, to join a blog hop with other incredibly talented writers. I was asked by several other folks… but she was quicker on the draw!

Brenda has been a great friend for many years (and crit partner). One day, we’re going to meet somewhere between NC and Maine. She’ll bring her laptop, I’ll bring mine. And we’ll exchange stories…. with an editing red pen. It works for us. It’s fun! Of course, we’ll also be bringing chocolate. 🙂 Brenda has a great gift for writing and I am thankful to know her! Her book, Ten Turkeys in the Road, is one of those giggle-worth texts that marries the manuscript to the illustrations in a giggle-worthy duet.

Here are my questions… answered to the best of my ability… and followed by the names/descriptions of the three beautifully gifted women I’ve chosen to highlight!

What are you working on right now?

I’ve been revising picture books and submitting them. That’s a job! At least one of those stories has taken me two years to get right. EEP! I am also revising chapter books and writing a young adult novel. It is a free-verse novel. Fun — but definitely different!

Why do you write what you write?

I write what I write because…

Wait. What?

I don’t know that any answer I give to this question would be entirely satisfactory or complete. I write in many different genres. I pray for guidance and make the best decision I can. When I write something that lights a fire in my soul, makes me giggle, or gives me good chill bumps…  I keep on writing.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

It depends on the day. Sometimes, it’s just hard to get a word on the paper without going back and deleting it a bajillion times. Other days, the words flow – but the revision stinks. And some days, it is just a big ol’ mess that can only be remedied by doing something else.

Laura Louise Renegar — She rocks. That’s all you need to know… but I’ll tell you more! She’s a wonderful writer, critique partner and we are going to find Bigfoot one day! You can find her here:  http://laurarenegar.blogspot.com/

Tameka Brown – She, too, is a critique partner and sister in this crazy publishing business! Her latest story, My Cold Plum Lemon Pie Bluesy Mood would be a fantastic addition to any classroom, social studies unit or personal book collection! You can find her here: http://www.tamekafryerbrown.com/

Becky Shillington – She has a fantastic smile – a tough car – and a brilliant sense of humor. She is going to be snatched up soon by an agent. There was NO exchange of chocolate for this endorsement. She doesn’t have to bribe me for teling the truth! You can find her here: http://www.beckyshillington.blogspot.com/

4 thoughts on “Blog Hop

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

