BLOG TOUR

At the 2012 SCBWI-CAROLINAS conference, I had the chance to hang out with a lovely woman named Ann Eisenstein. I had known her online for years… but felt like I really got to know her more that weekend! I also got to spend time with her at this year’s conference. She is a hoot!

And she has graciously tapped me in this blog tour – thank you, my friend! I’ll be answering her questions below. But first, you need to know that not only is Ann a wonderful person, but she is also a gifted writer. I bought Hiding Carly for my 11 year old! You should totally check out her website and buy one of her books! www.anneisenstein.com  🙂

Now on to the Q&A:

 

1.    Tell us about you…Have you always wanted to be a writer? When did you decide that was what you wanted to do? What else do you do? What is something we don’t know about you?

Wowzers! Deep questions. Yes. I have always wanted to be a writer. Wait… let me change that. I have BEEN a writer for as long as I can remember. My mama still has a poem I wrote for her when I was in kindergarten or first grade or something. She can chime in on that one! 🙂 May mama is a writer, too. I learned to love to read from both her and my daddy. And she was always writing poems for birthday, anniversaries or just whenever one “hit” her!

let see… what else do I do? I like to hike. And fish. I haven’t been fishing in 2 years. And I need to rectify that situation very soon. I need to play hooky from writing and go catch some catfish. (Hah. Playing hooky to go fishing… hooks, sinkers… get it? Did you know that I’m really corny? Yep. You do now!)

2.    What is your writing process like? Do you have a routine? A special place, a special time? Do you have a soundtrack? Set the mood for us.

routine: Clean off the couch, chair or bed so I can sit on it and write. Make sure computer has juice. Find plug to the computer if it is dead (usually is). Tell kiddos I’m getting ready to write. If TV or music is on, I usually turn it off and listen to the soundtrack of my kids. It usually goes something like this:

 

No, I do not like Family guy. But my, oh my… this is definitely the way it works at my house some days. Only my  name isn’t Lois. And I’m not laying down. Who can type like that? Plus the dog is usually on the other part of the furniture that is clean. So there is definitely no room to spread out! 🙂

3.    What do you write? YA? MG? PB? Adult? Fiction or nonfiction? What do you write about?

I write poetry, mag articles, picture books, chapter books and I am working on a YA. Fiction mostly, though I want to try my hand at non-fiction. I write about tons of stuff. Sometimes things like burps, toots and toenail clippings. Ya know, the fun stuff. But I also write more serious stuff. But it’s too early in the day to bring those up. We’d need a cup full of hot cocoa and some chocolate to discuss them.

4.    Do you draw from personal experience? Do you do a lot of research?

My stories all have a touch of personal experience in them. Some more than others. 🙂 I am doing research for my current story because I need to make sure some facts are straight before I submit to an editor.

5.    Finally, tell your readers about your book(s). Title, summary, synopsis, blurb. Published or waiting to be published. Where can we get your books if available?

My first picture, Being Frank, was published in October of last year. So this month is my book-birthday! You can find it here: BARNES AND NOBLE   and here: Amazon and at any of your local bookstores. If they don’t have it, feel free to ask for it! 🙂

Some reviews of BEING FRANK for you to peruse:

“Earnhardt’s debut is a humorous object lesson in honesty. . . . Italian illustrator Castellani’s blocky and bright Saturday-morning-cartoon–style illustrations amp the wackiness and make this frankly fun. On-the-mark help for the parents of inadvertently tactless tots.” —Kirkus Reviews (September 2012)

“Newcomer Earnhardt makes her point with solid pacing and lots of laughs. . . . Italian illustrator Castellani’s digital artwork is crisp, colorful, and energetic. . . . While Frank might not persuade sharp-tongued children to mend their ways, the story provides a useful array of good ways to deliver bad news.” —Publishers Weekly (September 17, 2012)

“This cute and captivating story demonstrates to kids how being brutally honest isn’t always necessary. . . . Earnhardt’s book is a thoughtful approach in teaching kids to always stay honest, but to be mindful of emotions and soften their approach.” —Michigan Reading Journal (September 2012)

Now to add some folks to this blog tour! I hope they can participate. If not, that’s probably because they are busy getting those next books ready!

Megan Hoyt – http://thewindingascent.blogspot.com/2013/09/music-to-soothe-weary-soul.html She has a great new book coming out in the Spring!

Tameka Fryer Brown – http://www.tamekafryerbrown.com/2013/05/this/  Her newest book hit the shelves this past spring. WHAT A FAB book! Check it out here! http://www.tamekafryerbrown.com/books/my-cold-plum-mood/

3 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

