Hide and Go Seek — and other Things that Make me Scream

I am not a scaredy cat.

I love to hike and wade in mountain streams.  I love to go to places I’ve never been and see things I’ve never seen. I like to watch documentaries on foods from other countries and want to visit those countries one day. I like to make new recipes! I’ll even try new foods – even if it’s with an upturned lip and wrinkled nose to show my displeasure. But I do it! (Ask my mama. She’ll tell ya!)  I throw parties for my girls (with kids… lots of them), host sleepovers and haul my kids with me all over the state of NC (and other states)… even if I don’t know where I’m going. We just GO!

I have picked up frogs (the frogs and I both shivered) and even held a giant snake one time at a reptile show… JUST for my kids. (and y’all know how much I dislike snakes!)

Life is an adventure and I’m here to explore! With God on my side, who do I have to fear? No one!

Unless, of course, you ask me to play the Cordova version of Hide and seek tag. Its variation is called, “Ain’t No Booger Bears Out Tonight…”   And if you don’t know it, you don’t want to. It’s played just as the sun is setting. The player who is “it” hides. Then other players have to make it from point A to homebase (without being tagged by “it”) while chanting, “Ain’t no booger-bears out tonight… Grandpa killed them all last night…”. ARRRGH!

I hate that game. I always have. Knowing that someone is out there, waiting for me… waiting to hunt me down and say, “Tag! You’re it!” makes me want to hide under my favorite blankie and eat a brownie or three. (yes, I am 41 and have a favorite blankie. Doesn’t everyone?)

Frankly, any variation on hide and seek scares the hummus out of me, especially the one I played as a child. And all those zombie movies and books? Just glorified hide and seek/tag games. For real. Think about it.

Isn’t that the way it is in life, though? We have hidden, unseen, and sometimes really ugly things that are chasing us. Sometimes they are temptations. Sometimes the hidden things are physical or emotional sickness. Sometimes, it can even be the overtones/undertones from people and relationships we encounter.

And maybe that’s why I hate hide and seek. Maybe, deep down, that stupid game reminds of the unknown crap that we all have to fight. Because, let’s face it…. life is full of battles. And those battles are often battles that sneak up on us… hunting us down when we aren’t looking.

But there’s HOME-BASE. Yep. That’s the saving grace part of the game. It doesn’t matter if someone tags me when I’m there… it doesn’t count. I’m not “it” and I don’t have to take their place. If I’m on home-base, then I’m SAFE. And the Bible says that we are MORE THAN CONQUERORS. It also says that God is my home-base! Well, maybe it doesn’t use that particular phrasing – but it does guarantee that I am SAFE in the presence of God. Need proof? Read Psalm 91. I’ve pasted the first five verses below… you’ll get the idea!


1He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.

2I will say to the LORD, “My refuge and my fortress,
My God, in whom I trust!”

3For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper
And from the deadly pestilence.

4He will cover you with His pinions,
And under His wings you may seek refuge;
His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark.

5You will not be afraid of the terror by night,
Or of the arrow that flies by day;

So if you are feeling like something is chasing you down – I get it. I really do.  Life is an adventure – and we’ll face battles and monsters along the way. But be encouraged! You don’t have to face them alone. God has promised to never leave you.

And if you are one of my in-real-life friends… call me. We can go to lunch. We can pray for each other. Encourage each other. Laugh together! Face those fears head on!

Unless, of course, you want to play “Ain’t No Booger Bears out tonight”…

then you’re on your own.

Love ya. Mean it. I’ll be hiding under a blankie eating a brownie.

7 thoughts on “Hide and Go Seek — and other Things that Make me Scream

  1. Donna, I can relate to things chasing you. Sometimes if feels like you can’t catch a breath. Thank you for reminding me there is a place I can exhale. Not to mention eat a brownie or two 🙂
    Kathleen

    Like

  2. My favorite childhood game! But we said ain’t no boogers out tonight. We would play until very late on smer nights. I thought we were the only ones that played that. Haven’t run across any others, just my cousins and Ius in a small Georgia town.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

