Try, Try Again

If today had been a fishing day, I would NOT be having a fish fry. More like a drowned worm party!

I have been trying to find a blog post that felt right for today. But… nothing has felt like the best fit. So I have kept trying to find the right fit. I can’t say that one thing is better than the other, it’s just a feeling I have when I am blogging. I know what I’m supposed to write and what I’m not… most of the time. So here I am, writing about revising… since that is what I’ve been doing with this post. Honestly, it’s what I do with most of my posts. I feel like I spend a lot of time drowning worms. Eventually, though, I do haul in a good catch!

For example, the posign of a good manuscriptst I wrote on Love, Crochet and Boogers took me well over a week to write. I was very excited about posting it, but knew it needed revision… lots of it. Every day I tweaked it a little more until it felt right – then I had to revise a huge chunk of it.

That’s how it is most of the time with my stories. I tweak here… I tweak there… I tweak a little everywhere. And sometimes tweaking turns into full blown revision.

And full blown revision is frustrating and painful… but necessary.

Full blown revision is often the only thing that can save our manuscripts.

Have you ever had a story you had to overhaul completely? I have had a few. But I had to step back from them for a while before I realized how much I needed to do it.

For this post, I looked up some other posts on revision. Here is one of my favorites so far:

“By the time I am nearing the end of a story, the first part will have been reread and altered and corrected at least one hundred and fifty times. I am suspicious of both facility and speed. Good writing is essentially rewriting. I am positive of this.” — Roald Dahl

For more thoughts on revision, check out this blog post by Emily Temple: Great Writers on the Art of Revision.

And this compilation: Quotes on Editing

What about you? Got any good quotes or helpful links on revision? How about your own ideas? How do you address it in your own writing? We all know that sometimes you have to drown a few worms to catch a good fish. So how many worms do you usually drown before your fishnet is full?

5 thoughts on “Try, Try Again

  1. Amen! I’ve drowned a lot of worms myself. One peek at my hard drive and a non-writer type person would go, “Whoa! How many times did she rewrite these things? Just how many versions did she need before she called it quits?”

    But I never call it quits. Or, at least, I hope I never do.

    Too much to say and too many children to say it to.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

