My Mouth

“My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry…” James 1:19

Just because I can say something doesn’t mean I should.

My opinion is my opinion… and because of the brave men and women who fought for our country’s freedoms, I have the freedom and right to voice my opinion. I also have the right to keep my big mouth shut. More importantly for me, as a Christian (because of the sacrifice of Christ) I also believe that anything I say (especially my opinion) should be shared from a place of love and compassion. “Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.” – Proverbs 16:24

In Being Frank, Ms. Zaroma says, “You don’t have to say everything you’re thinking.” Sadly, I have not always followed my own advice. I have hurt others with my words, spoken and written. I have regretted the things that popped out of my mouth before thinking them through. I have shared my opinions on my social media quite freely and often times without as much thought as the moment required.

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, But a harsh word stirs up anger.” – Proverbs 15:1

Too often, my answer is anything but gentle — and not at all in line with the above scripture. I’m opinionated… and I know it. I feel strongly about things… lots of things. And this is the reason I have kept my mouth shut (mostly) on all things political for the last few months. I was very vocal before the election, but have decided to turn my voice upwards in prayer. I believe that God can move stubborn mountains… explosive volcanoes… and all things that seem unmovable. I serve a mighty, mighty God and refuse to place my faith in man or woman (including myself). I never have, and I don’t intend to start now.

“She opens her mouth in wisdom, And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.” Proverbs 31:26

I want to to speak with kindness and wisdom – but far too often I just want to talk. And all the things I are not always the things I should say. They are not full of wisdom, kindness, or love.

If I want my words to start to reflect the love of God, I need to do what He told me to do. I need to pray for my my enemies (and frenemies), and those who see me as such. I need to love others as I have been loved – and forgive as I have been forgiven. But these goals can only be reached by allowing God to work in me as only He can — and yes… I’m a lot of work. I’m glad to be able to apply Paul’s declaration to my life, “But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ!”

I am thankful that God loves me right where I am, but loves me too much to leave me there. I am glad he feels the same about us all.

And that is that.

2 thoughts on “My Mouth

  1. Donna, you could have written our current Reach Group study I am teaching now. It’s a study on the book of James. I appreciate your share here and may quote your post tonight as we meet. I read the post w my wife Becky and we share your convictions on these dastardly tongues we have. God help us use them to build up, not tear down.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

