Ironing Things Out

Iron sharpens iron; so a man sharpens a friend’s character.
Proverbs 27:17
I’ve been on a workout kick with my dear friend, Sandra, for the last few weeks. We’ve been drinking our water (lots and lots and lots), eating more protein, eating less sweets, and encouraging one another every day to “keep on going”.
If I didn’t receive her text me every morning, I’m not so sure I’d be nearly as motivated to get my physical therapy homework and additional exercise done.
For me, there is something motivational about being held to a standard. 
I’ve been going to physical therapy for several months now. Last week, Rusty (my physical therapist) told me to jump up on a 4 inch block. *GRRRRR!*
I could NOT make myself jump. I was scared to death. He switched it out for the 2 inch tall box. I stood there, looking at it. It felt like it took me FOREVER to get up the courage to jump 2 little inches off the ground! I was so mad at me for not being able to do it. I thought about it all week.

Today, he immediately brought out the 4-inch box… my nemesis. 

This is how I felt…

arch-nemesis_o_1624417

BUT this time… it did not take forever.

AND… I jumped on that 4-inch box 15 times.

YES. I. DID!

My physical therapist knows just how to push my buttons. And when I don’t feel like I’ve reached my goals in PT, I always go home feeling like I need to do MORE. So I keep stretching and working on the things I need to work, hoping that the next week I will do better.

But what happens when my physical therapy is done? And what happens if Sandra is out of town and can’t text for some reason? Do I stop working toward the goal?

NO.

I have realized that I also have internal motivation. I want to be healthy for me, for my family, for whatever the Lord has planned for me day to day and for the days coming up. I don’t know that I’ve felt this much drive to get healthy in a long, long time.. .maybe ever! Many times I would “try” to lose weight and get healthy – then stop when I didn’t see results. But this time, it’s different. I can’t explain it. I just know.

And these verses speaks to my soul in a big, big way… so I’m claiming it for my life!

God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
    He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
    And he knows everything, inside and out.
He energizes those who get tired,
    gives fresh strength to dropouts.
For even young people tire and drop out,
    young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
    They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
They run and don’t get tired,
    they walk and don’t lag behind. Isaiah 40: 28-31 (the Message)

I’d love to hear your success stories. Have you been on a physical journey that required internal motivation to get started and/or to keep going? Did you have others on your journey who helped to sharpen your character and hold you to a standard? How have you seen God at work in your circumstances?

3 thoughts on “Ironing Things Out

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

