Dear Mothers, Daughters, Aunts, Grandmas, and Sisters of the World,

For most of us, there are days when we feel like our best “efforts” and best laid plans just aren’t cutting the mustard…

and it feels more like we’re cutting the cheese.

Yeah. I just made a fart joke. #sorrynotsorry

But come on, y’all, be real. Some days just stink. Maybe for you, that stinky, bad day was yesterday? Maybe it’s today? Maybe you aren’t looking forward to tomorrow?

Some days are harder than others. It’s a fact. And pretending that it’s not the truth won’t change a thing.

Too often, though, we try to hide our struggles with our kids, our jobs, our relationships, our “whatevers”. We feel the need to don our worn-out superwoman cape so the world can see how much we’ve “got it together”… but in reality? Those are the days we limp through– bent over like Atlas with the weight of the world on our shoulders.

Why do we do that?

We aren’t meant to walk alone.
We aren’t meant to carry the world on our shoulders.
We aren’t meant to try and walk in our own strength.

In Matthew 11: 28-30, Jesus says: “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (THE MESSAGE)

And in Galatians 6:1-3 it says, “Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law. If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived.”

Wow. Those verses! I am thankful to be surrounded by women who talk to me and listen to me. We share our joys, our struggles, our sorrows, our triumphs, our “whatevers”! (You know who you are!) We don’t pretend that life is always pinterest-perfect. And if we tried to? I can guarantee there would be an intervention of some sort. It would probably involve chocolate, hugs, and lots of REAL talk.

Being fake takes too much effort. I don’t have the time or energy for that. Seriously, friends… I barely have time to take a shower some days. (But I did take one today. YOU ARE WELCOME.) Trying to do this life on our own is an exercise in futility… and it will wear us down to nub.

So don’t go it alone. Reach out. Take off that worn out cape and take on the “yoke” of Jesus. Make the choice to put it on. “Put it on your shoulders and learn from me. I am gentle and humble, and you will find rest. This yoke is easy to bear, and this burden is light.”

One last thing — there is something good to be said about the stinky, hard days in our lives: If we will allow the Lord to use them — they can be great fertilizer for better, more fruitful days to come! (Yes. I really believe that. Mostly because I’ve seen him do it my life again and again!)
Happy Saturday, y’all!!

p.s. Sometimes God gives us inspiration from “weird” places. There is a children’s book out there right now that makes me laugh every time I read it. It’s called, ALMOST EVERYBODY FARTS by Marty Kelley. This book kept coming to mind as I was writing this post. I won’t give away the ending – but if you want to borrow it, I’ll lend it to you.

 

p.s.2. If you’re a teacher, mom, or work any a field that involves other human beings, I bet you’ll relate to these memes!

This.

This. 

And This. 

One thought on “

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions...

