Favorite quotes Friday

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I have a new blogging schedule. (See the block to the right of this post?) And shocker — I stuck to it this week!

Monday was “Still learning (God, family, homeschool & Life)” – I wrote about homeschooling on “snowdays”.

Tuesday was Writing for children, teens and YA – I shared a varied list for teens and why it’s important we don’t put ourselves in a box when writing.

Wednesday was Waking up Grumpy (parenting) – I wrote about making my children cry. *sigh*

Thursday was Write2ignite updates – Exactly what it sounds like! And yes, I shared all the up-to-date fabulous news on Write2ignite.

And today? Well, today is Friday. And that means that it’s 
Quotes that stick (my fave quotes)” day!   That means I’ll share some great quotes – and ask you to share your faves with me, too. You can always tell me if you like any of the quotes I’ve listed and if they gave you a LIGHTBULB (see Despicable Me for accent, please). Of course, sharing your lightbulb moments and fave quotes is purely voluntary (as is reading this post), but also greatly appreciated! 🙂

Let’s start out with some Chinese proverbs. NOTE: I can’t find a site that gives me a credible “yes, these are actual chinese proverbs/sayings…but they still make me think!

  1. A crisis is an opportunity riding the dangerous wind.
  2. A person who say it cannot be done should not interrupt the man doing it.
  3. Black cat or white cat: If it can catch mice, it’s a good cat
  4. Dig the well before you are thirsty.
  5. Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still.
  6. You can hardly make a friend in a year, but you can easily offend one in an hour.
  7. Be not disturbed at being misunderstood; be disturbed rather at not being understanding.

(The above quotes were found on the internet, but many over on http://thinkexist.com)

So – what do you think? Have you heard these before? Did they stir you in anyway…good, bad or ugly?

7 responses to “Favorite quotes Friday”

  1. Linda Andersen Avatar
    Linda Andersen

    Hi Donna,
    I love quotes. #1 should be used on the cover of SCBWI’s Bulletin magazine with a flying kite. #2 gave me a big chuckle. #6-7 really make you think about relationships. What a great variety.

    This was fun.
    Linda A.

    Like

  2. Jean Avatar

    I’ve heard #2 before–read it, rather. But the others are new to me.

    I collect quotes, too. My latest comes from A.W. Tozer, “God is loking for people through whom He can do the impossible.

    What a pity when we plan only the things we can do by ourselves.”

    Like

  3. Eliza @ Appalachian Feet Avatar

    Love the quotes and the LIGHTBULB reference. Also, congratulations on sticking to your schedule, I’ve been working on the same thing so I understand how difficult it is.

    Like

  4. K. Avatar

    Great list. You know one of my favorite quotes is: “I do not at all understand the mystery of grace – only that it meets us where we are but does not leave us where it found us.” ~ Anne Lamott

    Like

  5. Donna Avatar

    That is a beautiful quote, my friend. I must get me an Anne Lamont book. I’ve heard great things about Bird by Bird.

    Like

  6. Carol Baldwin Avatar

    I liked the quotes also. I’d heard the Chinese one before. Here is one from church today: “Live so you will be missed when you die.” Robert McCheyne

    Like

    1. Donna Earnhardt Avatar

      ooooh – that is a great one!

      Like

Share your thoughts/comments/suggestions…

D.W. Earnhardt

Careful, you might end up in my novel…